a spoonful of random...

i'm thankful that.. the semester is almost over?

written at 3:22 p.m. on 11.29.04

So this weekend was nice, hectic, cold, snowy.. the very essence of life in Chicago. :) Thursday, I spent the entirety of the day sleeping. I woke up in time to go to Thanksgiving dinner at my aunt's house. I walked in and was greeted by over twenty people looking at me, saying, "Oh! Rachel made it! How's college? How was the drive? You look like you're going to fall over at any minute! When did you decide to come? How's college? How was the drive? Blah blah blah blah blah blah.." It was one of those moments in which so many people were talking at once that I almost fell over from the dizziness that was wracking my poor, exhausted brain. I answered the questions as best I could, then retreated to a snack table in a corner to munch on some Peanut M&Ms.

Friday, I slept until 3:30pm. Then, I spent the afternoon and evening with my family. It was my last opportunity to spend some time with my dad, so I made sure I didn't have anything planned for Friday. I watched some horrible movie on TV with my mom. Actually, we only watched part of the middle of the movie, and then we discovered that What Not To Wear was on.. marathon-style!! Anywho, it was a fun night. Decorating the tree, chatting with my bro, cuddling with my cats, shoving as much pizza in my mouth as humanly possible.. Good times!

Saturday, I woke up at 10am to French toast for breakfast. Mm, mm, mmm! After that, my mom and I went out shopping. I had planned to spend the day with friends, but my mom was uber excited to get to spend time with me. My dad had left for Atlanta that morning on business, so I knew she was lonely and sad. After all, I can chill with people over Christmas break. It's not that far away. It's not like I had planned on coming back for Thanksgiving in the first place. Plus, my parents have been really nice this semester, sending me money and packages as often as possible, paying for some of my college expenses, blah blah.. I really appreciate them and felt that I should spend some quality time with them this holiday weekend.

Anywho, I slept through a Psychology exam this morning. I also missed another chapel. I now have to figure out how to straighten out both situations before I wind up taking your order at McDonald's. Yar, matey!

:: before :: after