a spoonful of random...

all by myseeelllfff... (i just watched bridget jones, can you tell?)

written at 12:41 p.m. on 08.25.05

It just hit me what one of the weirdest things is about this school year. Yeah, I'm missing my friends, I'm surrounded by strangers again, I'm stuck at home a lot because most of my friends are going to out-of-state/country schools this semester. But beyond all that.. this is the first time I'm in a non-Christian school since I first started private schooling in 3rd grade.

It hit me most yesteday when I realized how awkward it was to not begin class with prayer. The class time didn't feel blessed, and I was honestly missing that devotional/prayer time at the beginning of class. Also, we were reviewing some of England's religious history, which we had touched on in class on Monday. The teacher asked a question for which the answer was "the Catholics." (We were discussing the switch between Catholicism and Protestantism in the 1500s or something..)

One girl in the back answered "Christians."

The teacher said, "Catholics, actually."

The girl replied with, "Whatever."

It struck me that I might be the only one in that class who spent a good portion of my life being taught the differences between Catholics and Protestants, the history of the church, etc. It was so weird not to be on the same page with everyone.

The people are nice enough, but it's saddening to me because I know not to let myself fall for any stray cute guy on campus. The odds of that stray guy being a passionate, church-going Christian are slim to none. I'm going to have to resort to things like Christian clubs to narrow down the selection a bit for me. Or maybe I'll just be single. Again.. Still.. Whatever.

I have this funny feeling that I'm going to go insane with loneliness by the time the school year is out. Too bad I'm not rich. I'd fly to Texas after class on Wednesday and be back in time for church on Sunday. Nobody would get anything done on Thursday-Saturday nights, but those are open dorm nights at LeTourneau, so nobody gets stuff done anyway.

Perfect. Now I just need to marry rich. Quickly. Crap, that still goes back to the no boyfriend issue.

Wow, my problems are multiplying and they're circular. That's exciting.

Anyway, this school year seems to be going smoothly through week one, despite the fact that I'm in a new environment and very much alone. I guess I'll just hope and pray that things stay manageable. Meanwhile, I have some food to be scrounging up. Ciao!

:: before :: after