a spoonful of random...

even the shopping gods are in the holiday spirit

written at 10:13 p.m. on 05.28.05

Shopping with my mom was fun and rewarding and insanely successful. Red chairs were found for the living room, sage green ottomans were found to create a bench in my mother's bedroom, the perfect shoes were found at Payless, candy was on sale at Target, anti-bacterial products were featured sale items at Bath & Body Works, and everything we needed or wanted was found and at a price that could not be refused. Wickes Furniture won't even be charging us a dime for the red chairs until 2007, which is perfect because the van was starting to make weird noises today and yada yada..

Anyway, great day. The evening was spent watching "Spanglish." Interesting flik. Not my all-time favorite (what could replace Lord of the Rings, I mean, honestly?), but a decent movie. I definitely wouldn't say that I felt like I wasted my time, a feeling I remember quite clearly after watching "Lost in Translation" and "Vanity Fair" and several other movies tried simply because we have that insanely good deal at Blockbuster.

Watching the recent Quizno's commercial with Bob the baby, I can't help but scream, "BRING BACK THE SPONGE MONKEYS!" You don't know how enthusiastically I giggled every time I heard the line, "They have a pepper bar" sung by little hamster-like creatures (the sponge monkeys) during one of Quizno's most ingenious spurts of marketing yet. Bob the baby and his complaints about warm and cold milk, well.. I chuckled the first time and have sighed during every ensuing viewing.

Anyway, that's my inspirational rant/thought of the day. I'm too zonked to think of anything else. I shopped for six or seven hours straight, running on four hours of sleep and walking on flip-flops. Thank goodness there was a coffee break along the way.

I officially declare this day and this entry over. And yes, the fat lady sang.

:: before :: after