a spoonful of random...

road trip - houston

written at 12:46 a.m. on 09.06.04

Alright. I'm going to be a lazy bum.. See, my parents wanted me to start a blog that was safe for family members to read. Well, I haven't had the time to update anywhere lately, so I felt kinda bad about that. I just wrote a parent-friendly version of my road trip to Houston, so I'll copy that and post it here for now. I'll put more details in a later entry, I guess. I don't know. I'm too tired to care. Here goes.

Well, my first road trip is over with, and I am safe and sound in my dorm again. The first week of classes went very well, and I was out celebrating at Best Buy with the purchase of a TV and DVD player. Joel, a friend of mine, got a call from his coworker back in Houston who needed a key from him. So, jokingly, Brian (another friend) said, "Let's go give it to her!"

I said, "Yeah! Why not? That'd be awesome! Let's do it! We should totally go!"

So, at nine o'clock on my birthday, I walked out to Joel's SUV and chucked my stuff in the back of his vehicle. Kyle, Erik, Brian, Joel, and I headed off for Houston, TX before we even knew what was going on. Boo would have come too, but he left Friday afternoon to go to his grandmother's 90th birthday party. The original group plan was to celebrate my birthday and Kyle's birthday (Sept. 1) on Sunday. The Houston idea was way more fun, so we went with that one.

After arriving at Joel's dad's house, we drove over to Joel's work to give his coworker the key and to work on some homework in the office building conference room. Not much was really accomplished, but it was fun all the same. We then headed over to Joel's mom's house. She treated us to dinner at Mario's, a pizza place right on the beach in Galviston (sp?). After dinner, we walked up and down the beach for a while. Kyle had never been to the ocean before, being that he lives in the middle of nowhere in Nebraska. After the beach thing, we headed back to Joel's mom's house to watch TV and sleep and stuff.

This morning, well.. I guess technically yesterday morning.. we went to Joel's church. It's a pretty well-known church by the name of "Lakewood." Each service is attended by 9,000 people, approximately. I felt much more at home in the big church with the professional music than I did at the rinky-dink 150-person church I visited last week.

Anyway, it was a fun excursion. Coming back to school was a bummer, since we all came back with a lot of homework to do. Boo and I went to Sonic to grab a bite to eat and to swap weekend stories. Then I just got back from helping Kyle with his Calculus homework. All in all, I had a very unproductive but very, very fun birthday weekend.

Oh, and thanks to Mom and Dad for the cookie. :) That was a fun surprise.

So, happy birthday to me! And happy first road trip to me, too!!

:: before :: after