a spoonful of random...

cockroaches? you could put leash on those things!

written at 8:56 a.m. on 08.29.04

Well.. I didn't get back to my dorm until two in the morning today, and my voice is all raspy to prove it. I attended the society house "Block Party" last night, which I was terrified of attending at first. I mentioned the whole "group" thing in the last entry, but since then, I've also befriended Boo and Brian. ("Boo" is a nickname, obviously, that the guy goes by since he was born fourteen years after his brother and was a little bit of a surprise.)

Anyway, Boo and Brian and I, with some other guys from our group had been joking around at lunch about starting a band. And that had nothing to do with what I was going to say originally.

Back to the first topic. Boo and Brian met me at the church fair earlier in the day, we picked out a church that looks pretty decent. Luckily, Boo has a car on campus. Woo-hoo for freshman being allowed to have cars!! OK, so at the church fair, we decided to hit up the block party later that night, so we did. We stayed and mingled and stuff until about 11pm (the thing started at eight), and then we walked around campus and finally stopped at the campus mall. No, not the fun shopping kind of mall.. rather, a grassy and flowery area with a statue of the founder and replicas of some of his inventions.. Yeah.. it's pretty peaceful over there. We only stopped to sit down for a minute, but we wound up staying until two in the morning, just talking. It was nice, until we noticed the unusual amount of cockroaches. The real reason we left the block party was so that they could show me a Texan cockroach. I saw plenty of them at the mall, and I hope to never see them again. They're almost as big as a half-dollar coin. They're freaking fast, and the shadows these little buggers cast are too massive for words. Anyway, while we were talking, I made Boo and Brian shoo away the oncoming cockroaches. It almost seemed that they were planning an attack. Or maybe it just seemed funnier to look at it that way. Yeah, those things fly pretty far with a whack from a sandal. Bwa ha ha.

SO.. The church we're attending has a college Sunday school type thing at 9:00 or 9:30 in the morning. We knew as we were walking back to our dorms that there was no way we were gonna be up that early. Fortunately, at 10:00, there is a college brunch, followed by a 10:30 service. So, not only can we sleep in, but we don't have to worry about getting breakfast at the cafeteria.

Oh, good news for me! The weather is dropping today due to some expected rain. Right now, it's only 70 degrees (Fahrenheit) outside right now. Oop, I take that back. 73 degrees and probably rising. But still, yesterday it was almost 85 when I woke up. It's been in the 90s every day, which would be lovely if it wasn't 99% humidity.. literally.

Ok, enough weather talk! I need to clean up my room, since I'm still not completely unpacked. Three cheers for being a slob!!

::AFTERTHOUGHT::
I just remembered a sad story. My family took me out for dinner last night at Chili's, as a "last hoorah." Afterwards, we stopped off at their hotel, where I ran into the bathroom to do some last-minute primping before the party. Five minutes later, my mom called me out into the living room of the suite, saying they had something cool to show me..

It was a little bitty orange lizard!! It was the cutest thing I have ever seen! My dad was volunteered to catch the critter, but those things are wicked fast!! My dad was running around with a paper cup, trying to catch it on the wall. Unfortunately, the little critter decided to park on the crack where the wall meets the floor. My dad wouldn't poke him to move him. Sadly, my dad wound up squishing him a few times as he jabbed the cup at the wall.. and.. he.. Oh man, this still grosses me out.. He chopped the tail off the poor thing by accident. The lizard was just writhing in pain, and the tail was on the ground flopping around. It was nauseating. The thing was only an inch and a half long to begin with, and there was almost half of an inch of tail on the floor.

My dad did catch the poor little lizard, throwing him from a hotel window onto a tree leaf below. I'm still grieving. I wanted to take that thing back to the dorm, darn it!

Oh well, that's the end of this hasty add-on.

:: before :: after