a spoonful of random...

free at last

written at 8:36 a.m. on 09.07.04

Ok, just to explain the "family friendly" thing of the previous entry. This diary is for the uninhibited Rachel. I started a completely different blog/diary for the parents. I was just too lazy to write two separate entries the other day, so I copied the text from the parent-friendly one to here.

So.. I guess I'll tell the Houston story in detail now. Like I said before, it was a spur-of-the-moment event that made me appreciate my freedom as a college student. I love my family and all, but it's nice being able to make choices. Heck, I'm totally willing to put up with the consequences of those choices, it's part of life.

Anyway, the trip was really just loaded with a bunch of inside jokes and fun crap. My friend Joel drove, and he drives much like myself, cept that he's usually turned around talking while driving. A lot of the fun memories are of his hilarious driving style. When driving out to Mario's for pizza, his mom sat in the front passenger seat.. At one point, they both started digging through the center console to look for something, neither one watching the road, nobody paying attention at all. Kyle shouted out, "Ok, new rule. At least one person in the front row must be paying attention to the road at all times."

I guess it's kinda hard to explain inside jokes online.. So, screw that.

Since so much of my day is inside jokes, I guess I'll just dayblog or something from here on out.

I was proud of myself yesterday. I actually sat down with Boo and we did our accounting finally. The homework assignments are always due on Tuesday, but we of course waited until Monday night to begin. Two hours later, I returned to my dorm and decided (on the spur of the moment!!) to walk to Blockbuster with Erik. Then, out of the blue, we decided to stop by and say hi to Kyle. We could see him playing ping-pong in his dorm building's lobby. I guess I'm just happy to be free to be random in more than just speech.

Dang, it's nice weather out today. Eighty degrees, windy, sunny.. It's like a perfect Chicago summer day. I feel so at home. I actually saw Ali (the girl I stayed with when Allison and I went to compete for the Heritage scholarship) for the first time a few minutes ago.

Yeah, so.... not much is going on at the moment. I'm meeting people for dinner at 5:30.. then I think we're taking a trip to town to get me some stuff. I need milk (I just got cereal in the mail from my mom and dad), a cable for my TV (the one I bought is too short), instant coffee stuff, oh.. heh.. and stuff for the 20 bug bites on my feet. Freaking fire ants.

Anywho, I need to do some laundry in a bad way. I also need to go shopping for some tees. I have absolutely no summer clothes. I wear sweatshirts year-round at home, and the only t-shirts I have are meant to be hidden under sweatshirts. Oh well.

Yes, so I was going to go do something now.. Oh right. Laundry. I got distracted. No surprise there.

Later, y'all.

:: before :: after