a spoonful of random...

Rachel vs. First Snowstorm of the Year... (I lost!)

written at 10:25 p.m. on 11.16.05

How long has Diaryland been running commercial ads?? Where was I when we voted on this?? I vote NO, dang it!!

Sigh.


I can't be upset today. Well, I can be and have been, but then I look outside. Do you know what I see when I look outside?

...

SNOW!!!!!!!!!

Yes, it's snowing here in Chicagoland today.


*break for class and work (gone from 1:25 to 10:25pm)*


Alright, so in between then and now, I have become less enthralled about this whole "snow" thing. See.. it dropped to 17 degrees, the wind picked up to almost 40 mph, and the snow started sticking to the ground in a manner that made traction a thing of the past. I almost died on my way from the Caribou Coffee across the street to Office Depot.

To make matters worse, I got off of work, headed to my car, and went to unlock my car door... But Mother Nature wasn't done whooping my ass for the day. Oh no. The moisture in the keyhole froze and expanded to the point where I could not get my key more than a few millimeters in before it jammed.

I called home in a panic, and my mom told me that my dad was just rescuing my brother from work. Apparently my dad's car (which my brother was using) wouldn't even start. The battery just up and died.

Damn snow. So pretty from inside a well-heated house (not mine!) next to a fireplace with mugs of hot chocolate and umm.. popcorn (why not) and teddy bears and blankets. BUT NOT SO PRETTY WHEN IT ATTEMPTS TO TAKE YOUR LIFE.

Just wait 'til I show up with.. Mr. Shovel!!! DUN DUN DUN. Or Mr. Snowblower! DUN DUN DUN. We'll see who's boss then.

:: before :: after