a spoonful of random...

stop patronizing me about my opinions... i'm allowed to have them

written at 6:45 p.m. on 09.16.03
I am pissed off at the world. I don't even know why. Maybe it's just PMS, maybe I'm just stressed out with work and school. I dunno. I don't think I can do it anymore. I don't know how people handle jobs, sports, and honors and AP classes. That just boggles my mind.

Speaking of Boggle, I rock at that game. Haha. Stellar transition, eh? Yeah, I didn't know how to end that crappy first paragraph. I mean, it is important to have a good transition between two crappy paragraphs. I wish I didn't use words like "crappy" or "pissed," cuz they're such a generational stereotype.

Now, maybe I'm just victimizing myself, throwing my own pity party, blubber bash, whatever.. but I feel the need to whine a little here, so bear with me for a minute.

See, it seems like everyone gives me grief about having an opinion about anything. If I say, "I listen to Eminem. I enjoy his music," then people get all uptight and snotty and tell me that Eminem is evil and a horrible, unlovable person. Ok, I can understand people not liking Eminem. I did not say that I approve of all the choices that he's made and that I'm trying to become more like him. I simply freakin said that I like his music. I'm allowed to have my opinion, just as much as you are allowed to have yours. We can disagree, just don't act like I have to agree. When will people learn to "agree to disagree." I mean, is there really a point to making everything a huge debate?

Now, completely besides the point, I don't really listen to his music much anymore since it is vulgar, crude, and not at all God-honoring. However, the point I'm trying to make is that people like, say.. Melody, who listens to Madonna and Missy Eliot and that stuff, criticizes my music choices. When I point out flaws in the character of either of these two women, or in their music, she gets all defensive. Doesn't anybody else recognize the hypocrisy? "Oh, it's ok to make fun of someone else's music, they just can't make fun of mine."

That's just like the dumb philosophy of the world today: "Well, it's ok for everyone to gang up on Christianity, cuz they believe in 'absolute truth' and are therefore narrow- or close-minded. But if they try to point out anything wrong with our religion, we'll bust out all hell!! Never mind the fact that in rejecting their beliefs, we're the ones being narrow-minded.."

I hate the world. I hate the illogicalness, the hypocrisy--yes, even my own hypocrisy--the blindness, the stubborness, the arrogance.. Christ could come back any time now. I'm really quite ready to get out of here.

Oh well. I'm just in a bad mood. I really mean most of what I say, but I've probably said it wrong, so people will incorrectly interpret it and then rant at me about it. I don't give a crap about your opinion. Go away.

::sigh:: To top it all off, I have a buttload of homework to do, and no motivation whatsoever. I'm starving, and the pizza guy is taking forever. I might as well send out a search party for him. Loser.

Speaking of guys, Bob the Snail gave me a hug yesterday.. the one and only highlight of this week. Maybe Homecoming Week next week will put me in a better mood. Maybe not. Just keep thinking happy thoughts. Find a happy place. Damn, they're all taken. Yes, Allison, I swore. Oh no. Chop my head off. It will solve a lot of problems.

I'm off to be in a bad mood, to stew over how not-really-depressing-but-relatively-horrible my life has been lately. Don't try to cheer me up. I'm in the mood to be grumpy. Just go away.

P.S. Amberly, I'm gonna make you a template. You should not have to use Allison's hand-me-downs. That's just sad.

:: before :: after