a spoonful of random...

pardon my not-so-well-thought-out rant yesterday, in fact, pardon my opinions in general

written at 10:30 p.m. on 08.28.03
Well, I had an entry all prepared, but I scanned Kristina's entry and feel the need once again to explain myself. I have no problem with people not constantly speaking English. However, I do have an issue with the fact that when English is the primary if not "official" language of the USA, people don't bother to learn it at all. Try going to France. They will be downright offended if you don't take the time to at least learn "Bonjour" before going there. It's a courtesy thing. I know at least three words in Spanish, and that's all I ever plan to know. If I ever venture to Mexico, I will learn more Spanish, for my convenience, and for theirs. Why should I be forced to learn twelve different languages to communicate with the twelve different people living on my street? Of course, no one on my street speaks anything but English, but that's besides the point. I don't even mind the people at McDonalds, unless they screw up my order. It's great that we have such diversity. However, I would much appreciate it if people would take the time to at least learn enough English to communicate before coming to America. I also wish that I could buy a watch with just English instructions. Create a different box with Spanish instructions. That's just pure laziness, but still. It's not anything that I have against people from other countries. But see how easy it was to communicate with the Hungarian kids who came to our school last year? They know English better than we do, almost. But they can then teach us more about THEIR culture in our language. I dunno. It still bothers me. Here is the rest of my entry:

Dang it was weird to go back to school today for registration. I was all psyched to go back and reopen my old lockers, and to visit with Tessa and Christen a little while we set up our lockers. Ha, now I'm downstairs, where it is WAY too dark for my tastes, and I'm two lockers away from my brother. This year was supposed to kick butt! I mean, without a dress code, and without hanging ID tags, this was so ideal!! But no, I have a crappy locker. Only ONE crappy locker, too. We were so spoiled the first three years with two lockers... in fact, I basically had three lockers.

This is crap. And I know the more I whine about it the crankier I will get. Let's see.. how can this be good. Well, if Lauren Masi is as cool as I've heard she is, then I could work this out (her locker will be right next to mine). We could kinda share space. Maybe I'll keep a bunch of pens and pencils and stuff on the upper shelves of MY locker, and she can provide room for the backpack/coat deal. Hmm. Ok, this can work. And at least my locker is near the end of the hall by the stairs, so I can avoid most of lunchtime squishiness. Now the issue of it being so dark and smelly, umm... I'll just have to invest in some strong perfume that smells nice and friendly. Oh man, who am I kidding. It's just not the same without my good old lockers. I've known em for three years, and now I'm thrown away, downstairs.

So, on top of freakin out about the new environment, a lot of cool people are gone, so that's gonna be even WEIRDER. Bijodifjaposkdjf.

I guess it's just been one of those days. Weeks. Months. Yeah, this summer kinda blows. If this school year sucks as much as it is threatening too, I'll be super-pissed and using whatever Student Government powers I have to get Mrs. Heath (principal) to make me happy. Mr. Beebe (administrator) told me today that they'll get me into any class I want. I thought that was pretty cool. It's not entirely true, since some classes are filled up, but it's nice to know that I've got some powerful people to back me up. Years of non-stop sucking up has finally paid up. Ahh..

I got to talk to my best friend Tami yesterday. That was fun. My mom accidentally picked up the phone, since Tami called from her work, and my mom was expecting a call from an unknown number. Bwa ha ha. Way to go Tami.

|||I'm off at Worship Team practice for the rest of the night. I hope you have fun at the staff meeting, Christen! Ugh, this entry sucks. The end.|||

I just want to delete this whole entry. Don't be surprised if I do. I'm just going through Frodo-withdrawal

:: before :: after