a spoonful of random...

fat people, poor people, and lots of hobbitness!!!!!!

written at 3:05 p.m. on 08.25.03
So, here I sit, staring at this blank box that I shall try in vain to fill with wit, humor, and something besides "how my day went." Well, here goes nothing.

It's Monday. New week, new potential. I've started on the Awakening essay, and I'm making good progress. You've probably heard me say this before, but I love the Awakening by Kate Chopin. It is by far the best book I had to read for AP, and since I've read it before, I was really only refreshing my memory. Anyway, this essay is a breeze. The one on Death of a Salesman is not so easy. The Iliad is done, and that was pretty easy too. The worst part is reading Dante's Inferno. My goodness. All the thee's and thou's make my head spin, and I seriously have to reread every Canto to make sure I understood everything correctly. I wish there was an easier version. :(

But seriously, enough updates on AP English. What else can I babble about... I... Umm... Dang. I'm stumped. Maybe this isn't a good day for writing.

In other news, I made a new design at my design site! Click here to see a sample entry. It's pretty spiffy, if you have a way to host images. I found all these awesome pictures on this Corel Photo House CD that I've had for years. I'm getting all sorts of ideas for image templates. The sad part is, most people I know can only use imageless ones. Sigh. Maybe someone will win the lottery and buy us all gold memberships! Whoo-hoo!

Oh, total freak moment here, pardon me: Lord of the Rings, Two Towers comes out TOMORROW!! I'm so psyched, it's not even funny. I just got my first paycheck for over two hundred dollars on Friday, so I would run out and buy it, but my family already pre-ordered a copy, I guess.

SO, instead, I'm going to see if I can find the four-DVD version of The Fellowship of the Ring. Long story, but I never got it last year, and it's been on my wish-list FOREVER. I'll probably also see about ordering that necklace. So gorgeous. Sigh. Then, the ultimate prize will be the Ring itself. And I found a place to get it in your specific size. Boo-yah, grandma. No, I'm not gonna order Gandalf's sword. I'd probably kill some unsuspecting but annoying family member of mine withing an hour of owning it.

End of the freakishness. I'll put it away for now. :) So, what else is there to talk about? (As if you'll really pop out of my monitor and answer me. That would be just a tad bit creepy.)

Hmm.. HMM.... Double hmm. Holy crap, I am so brain-dead. Jack Prelutsky is awesome. Logic puzzles are my favorite. College mail needs to stop. My closet is a mess. Allison, I have your Sproul book cuz paperbacks aren't returnable. Blessed Child by Ted Dekker is an excellent book. Dilbert is hilarious. I have too much work to do to be writing this. I'm writing this anyway. Some cat keeps knocking over my panda bear that is on the bottom display shelf of my bookshelf. I have three cameras and I don't ever think to take pictures. Josh wants me to go with him and Jon and smoke cigars for our 18th birthdays. I might just tag along to see if they really do it. Student government was a dumb thing to sign up for. It looks good on college applications, though. My cow keychain grows more possessed by the day. It growls at me instead of mooing. I wish it would just die. I want a dwarf hamster. My closet is still a mess. Dante's Inferno is going to be the death of me. Bid your farewells now.

Alright, I think that got the rambles out of me for a while. Let's think of something REAL to talk about. People, no. Pets, no. Places, ... that has potential.

I have so many places that I want to visit. Paris, Virginia, Texas, Florida, Texas, California, Texas, Hawaii, Texas, and most of all... New Zealand. Yeah, I would love to go back to Texas, but if I had to choose anywhere in the world to go, it'd probably be New Zealand cuz: A)It's beautiful, and B)LOTR was filmed there. Haha, yeah, freakishness is hard to turn off.

I need a rant. Calling all rants. Big ones, small ones, fat ones, skinny ones. Oooo, there's a rant.

Fat America. I went to Sam's Club with my mom a couple of weeks ago, and there were seriously one four people there who could be termed as "fit." (Excluding children and cashiers.) This is highly disturbing to me. What the frick are these people doing buying candy in BULK? They shouldn't be allowed to buy ANYTHING in bulk except Slim Fast or Nourishe, and maybe fruit and vegetables. This is so annoying to me. Now, there's also the other extreme, and that is the people who think they're not skinny enough. When you can't walk outside in heavy winds cuz you might get blown away, you can stop losing weight already!! Seriously, Americans are all mental, myself included.

Oh, one other rant. Yeah, lucky you. Two whole rants in one day. This guy comes into New Life Bookstore on.. Saturday, and he looks around for a while. Then, he comes up to the counter. He asks, in a very sweet and sincere way, "Now, I'm just asking a question here, and it's ok if you can't answer it, but do you know if there is anywhere I can get some help?" Now, this guy was dressed in a decent-looking t-shirt and jeans, and I expected that maybe he was one of those round-about people who can't directly ask you where the book, "Marriage for Dummies" is located. I kinda blinked at him for a second, cuz I was over by the second register, about ten feet away. Frank was at the register that "Mr. Fred" was at. (I don't know his name.) Frank said, "Yeah, what do you need?" Mr. Fred replied, "Well, I'm looking for a place where I can get some food, maybe. I tried the Salvation Army, but they're closed for the weekend, and the Food Pantry closed for the day." Whoa. Total shock. Frank says, "Well, I don't live in the area, so I don't exactly know. Isn't there a PADS program around here?" Mr. Fred answered, "Yeah, but they're only open in the cold season." Dang. Then Frank told him that the church he attends is Willow Creek, over in Barrington. It was too far away. I finally snapped out of it, and suggested that he try my church, only like two minutes away. The guy said he was willing to call over and ask 'em what to do, but it turns out the office was closed. (I forgot that the church office is only open M-F.) Anyway.. to make what could've been a short story as short as possible, there is nowhere for a guy to get food on the weekends. I felt terrible. There has got to be something to do about this. I'm going to email my pastor and see if our church can start something up. Sigh. Stupid non-caring community. Grr.

Oh man, I have so many more rants, and I don't have long online, so I'm just gonna quit. The end.

:: before :: after