a spoonful of random...

two days and counting

written at 6:20 p.m. on 06.04.03
So, you think you can get away with it, eh? Well THINK AGAIN, YOU DIRTY WITTINESS-STEALING FREAK!!

Phew. Now that I have that out of my system, I shall proceed to more interesting topics.

Ok, today was my last day at the "old job." Yeah, I'm super-glad about that. See the "old job" started out not being so bad.. let me explain...

Once upon a time, way back in the day, last summer, I signed up to go to a youth conference in Atlanta with my church's youth group. However, the trip was pretty expensive, since it was to be held at Georgia Tech, and it costs a lot to rent it out, to get transportation, etc. Anywho, our youth pastor, who had only been with our church for about a year, turned out to be really good at fundraising. One of the fundraising ideas he had was for a massive auction. Not only were there many items to auction off, but each person going on the trip was asked to volunteer four hours of time to be auctioned off.

Anywho, the lady who bought my four hours turned out to be my old principal. She had me clean her house from top to bottom, which thoroughly grossed me out, cuz there were dead bugs by the millions on her windowsills and stuff. She also asked me to file a bunch of paperwork, which I loved, cuz I'm an organization freakazoid.

I guess I did a good job, cuz she asked me if I wanted to work for her. She said that all I'd be doing was "some light cleaning, but mostly paperwork." Yeah right. That's how it started, but in the year that I've worked there, I've found myself doing a heck of a lot of weird things, like wiping out the insides of the kitchen cupboards, filing music by instrument, waxing her piano, sorting her nylons by color?! Anywho... I really did appreciate the once-a-week schedule, and the pay was pretty good, but still, I'm not into 20-year old watery vacuums, nor am I into grading college students' assignments, .... Oh well. It's over!

Finding Nemo was funny, but seeing how it's the 12th movie I've seen in the past three days, I wasn't as easily amused as usual. It was fun hanging out with Kyle though. It made me realize... that I need to work on my Mario Kart skills!! Good gravy, I lost almost every time, and I only got third place in the overall tournament! I sucked! I mean, I haven't played in two or three years, but still! I used to be queen of Mario Kart. :( Oh well.

Hmm.. Wow, yeah, my mom has been acting pretty weird lately. You know the mom on "Orange County"? That's kinda my mom right now. She sniffles that I'm not spending enough time talking to her, that I never want to have a conversation with her. Well.. it's kinda true. I tell her little things, like: Josh is busy until graduation, so the band probably won't practice until after that. She wonderfully turned it into this: Rachel's band is nonexistent, so they will never practice again. This made for an interesting conversation when I told her about 30 minutes before I needed to leave that I had band practice (it wasn't planned until about 31 minutes before I needed to leave). Yeah, well that's just a short diddly about my fairly odd parents... not to be confused with the awesome show by that name. Go Timmy!

Wow, I just missed all of Dumb and Dumber, which was playing behind me while I typed this and ate Subway, and now my room is empty of my brother and all the noise that accompanies him and the TV. How sad. Next movie. I only grabbed a few from the basement, which is now off limits cuz of the floors, so I'm kinda limited as far as choices. What I've been avoiding seeing so far: Mulan, Toy Story 1 and 2, Behind Enemy Lines (haven't ever seen it), A Beautiful Mind, and that's it. I have already watched Dumb and Dumber, Monsters, Inc. (with and w/o the commentary), Robin Hood: Men in Tights, Mission Impossible 2, Star Wars: Episode II, Ocean's Eleven (with and w/o the two commentaries), Lord of the Rings, Minority Report, Legally Blonde, Orange County, ... and instructional videos by the guitar wizard: Estaban. There you go. I'm so entirely sick of the movies I have in my room, it's not even funny. (Except, of course, I could never be sick of Lord of the Rings.) Maybe I'll ask my mom to stop by Blockbuster to pick up a movie. Then we can watch it together and spend mother-daughter time together so she stops soaking my bed with her snot bubbles!! Goodness.

I must confess. My wittiness (if I ever had any) has been stolen. That is my excuse for this horrific entry. It is so entirely pathetic I wish to erase it. But my other self says not to, so I guess I shouldn't argue with myself. In fact, nobody should argue with me. I am always right, just deal with it. And Kyle, I will be the champion at Mario Kart by the next time I see you. I promise.

Two days and counting. :(

:: before :: after