a spoonful of random...

A little reflection meme on 2005...

written at 2:35 p.m. on 12.30.05

I yoinked this from Emily. Seemed like something possibly worth my time.

1. What did you do in 2005 that you'd never done before?
Flunked out of school, put someone else's happiness over my own for an extended period of time, bought my own cell phone and my own computer, turned down guys (yes, that is plural!), signed a written contract with my parents, watched Lord of the Rings for the 100th time.. it was a big year.

2. Did you keep your new year's resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
Well, I just went back to find my 2005 goals, and would have to say that I really didn't do anything on my list. I spent money every which direction, I did not defluff at all, and I pretty much let this year slide right into a festering pool of disaster. I do plan to make new goals, but hopefully I'll do a better job of sticking to them this time around...

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
Nope. I had an imaginary child, but that's it for the year.

4. Did anyone close to you die?
Nope. That always scares me, too. I've never had anyone close to me pass away. I'm afraid everyone's going to die on the same day or something awful.

5. What countries did you visit?
Pfft. Like that will ever happen.

6. What would you like to have in 2006 that you lacked in 2005?
Determination, motivation, control over my life, healthy friendships, perhaps a healthy relationship with a boy-type person, and .. that's it.

7. What dates from 2005 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
Hell Week--if anything could go wrong, it did. The opening day of Cookie Designs at the new domain was a huge day for me, too.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Failing school three semesters in a row? Yeah, I didn't achieve much. OH, I did open cookiedesigns.net! That was pretty sweet.

9. What was your biggest failure?
School.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
A cold, a broken heart, the usual.

11. What was the best thing you bought?
A toss-up between my cell phone and my new desktop (with flat-panel monitor).

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
Boy and Daniel, for prepping me for day one of Hell Week. Jenna and Sheryl, for being at my side throughout Hell Week. Jason, for putting up with all my craziness.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
There were quite a few, actually. They're blissfully unaware.

14. Where did most of your money go?
Clothes, food, chocolate, surprise cell phone bills, new computer, and more chocolate. I hate that I spend so much money making myself fluffy.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
A boy liking me at the same time I liked him! (short-lived excitement on that one), the idea of living with two amazing guys in an apartment, getting the One Ring and the Evenstar pendant in the same year, and Lord of the Rings.. every time I watch the movies or read the books. *purr* Obsessions are awesome!

16. What song will always remind you of 2005?
"All For You" by Sister Hazel, "Konstantine" by Something Corporate, "Ohio (Come Back to Texas" by Bowling for Soup, and Jamiroquai's Sykronized album.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
a) happier or sadder? Happier. b) thinner or fatter? Probably fatter, but not by much. c) richer or poorer? I have income this year, but I still owe several people arms and legs.

18. What do you wish you'd done more of?
That whole "school" thing. I wasted a lot of time this year, and I'd like it back, dang it.

19. What do you wish you'd done less of?
Wasting time.

20. How did you be spend Christmas?
Feeling all warm and fuzzy about how my family was finally acting familyish.

21. Did you fall in love in 2005?
Oh gee, look at the time. Gotta move on to the next question.

22. How many one-night stands?
Zero, slut!

23. What was your favorite TV program?
Gilmore Girls, by far. House was pretty freaking awesome, too.

24. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?
Mmm.. no.

25. What was the best book you read?
The Devil in the White City by Erik Larson. Maybe. I half-read a lot of books, and I loved them all. That one just so happens to be about Chicago, and Larson's style of writing meshes well with my style of thinking.

26. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Oh man, Emily had two good ones on here (Alexi Murdoch and Jamie Cullum), but I really can't pick. I acquired a lot of music this year, and I love it all.

27. What did you want and get?
A part-time job with awesome coworkers, the One Ring from LOTR (and the Evenstar pendant that Arwen gives to Aragorn), a new computer, a cell phone of my own, and tons of great new friendships.

28. What did you want and not get?
Abs, Frodo.

29. What was your favorite film of this year?
... Lord of the Rings? Oh come on, that has to count!!! I watch it like once a week!

30. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
Hmm.. looks I didn't do much of anything except talk to Jason and Daniel on the phone. Man, I'm boring when I'm living at home.

31.What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Finding the strength to actually grow up and deal with things the right way the first time.

32. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2005?
More tasteful, refined, professional, and mature than in years past, that's for sure. What Not to Wear is the best educational show ever. It should've gone up on my "favorite TV show of the year" answer. It ties with Gilmore Girls for first place.

33. What kept you sane?
Friends! Escaping to Middle Earth helps, too.

34. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Elijah Wood. Duh.

35. What political issue stirred you the most?
The drama in New Orleans, I think. I don't really get stirred much.

36. Who did you miss?
Everyone. I'm a loner now!

37. Who was the best new person you met?
Umm.. I don't remember meeting anyone this year. Is that sad? The people of PrimpMyBlog.org's Forum are pretty awesome! OH yeah, and I met Camshaft's little sister, Nora. She rocks my socks off. Coolest 12-year-old ever.

38. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2005.
Not having goals leads to not accomplishing anything. Skipping class is not good. The milk in Texas is gross. Chicago has the best pizza anywhere, and I should never take that for granted. The fact that nerdiness is trendy is both a great blessing and a great annoyance.


That's it for now. I have another end-of-the-year "meme" in store as well as a real entry, but that will have to wait for later. I need to pee, and my stomach is growling. Time to take a mini-break from blogland. Never fear, I shall return shortly.

:: before :: after