a spoonful of random...

i should work on transitioning from one subject to the next

written at 9:02 p.m. on 02.29.04
Sometimes I wish that I cared a little more about... anything. About myself (personality, appearance), about others (actually going out of my way to be a good friend), about life (school, work, doing fun things besides stuff on the internet). I don't know what I'm talking about. I just... yeah, I wish I could motivate myself to give a crap, but I can't. It's pretty darn frustrating at times. Oh well. (Gah! I can't even care about caring. That's pathetic.)

Sorry, but I haven't seen "The Passion" yet, and I am not sure that I ever will. For one thing, I am easily upset by violence. Not only do I cry, but I literally feel sick to my stomach. The second reason why I wouldn't see it this: I know that when I walk into the theatre I will wind up buying tickets for Lord of the Rings not the Passion. Now, don't start accusing me of having my priorities out of whack. It all relates to the violence issue. I really do not handle gruesome violence well at all. Watching a violent movie disturbs me for months and sometimes years after seeing it.

However, my obsession with Lord of the Rings is only growing over time. I was in choir the other day, and one measure of the alto part reminded me of Lord of the Rings. I went home and watched the movie, and sure enough, it was from the scene in the Fellowship of the Ring when Saruman's orcs and other creatures were throwing the trees down into the pit near Isengard in order to raise the massive army. Crazy, huh?

Oh yeah, two fun things came in the mail this week. First, my dad ordered some computer books for work, and one was O'Reilly's HTML & XHTML, The Definitive Guide. Since he really ordered it for himself, I was surprised when he offered to give it to me in return for the HTML 4.0 book I had borrowed from him months ago. Apparently, he has no need to know XHTML for whatever projects he is doing, which means more knowledge for me! Six hundred and fifty pages of good not-old-fashioned nerdiness. Sweet!

The second thing that came in the mail this week was Dance Dance Revolution. Our neighbors got the game for X-Box a few weeks ago, and my mom went over to play the game and fell in love with it. It's disturbing for me to think of my mother bopping around to techno music, so when she offered to buy it for our family, I was hesitant. However, I just determined never to do a competition with her under any circumstances. She did try to teach me how to play, so I let her "dance" for all of one minute before I kicked her out of the basement and told her I could figure this out by myself. (I've never played before, but I've seen other people play it before. It's pretty easy to figure out that the arrows match the arrows on the mat. Of course, hitting the arrows at the right time is what takes practice.) Anyway, I now have a new form of exercise for Independent P.E.! Now, to all the people who have told me that taking Independent P.E. was a "waste of time" and that "the real P.E. class doesn't do nearly as much work as you do" and "gym class is so much more fun"� well, eat my pantaloons. I'll be playing DDR while you suckers play something like basketball or something horrid. Bwa ha ha.

Only a few hours left of this accursed month. I can't stand February. The month of love isn't fun unless you have a "special someone" to love. Don't get me wrong, I'm quite happy being single. I just can't stand February, or Valentine's Day, or any other day when my status is viewed as "abnormal" and "unworthy." In fact, I think I'll start my own freakin' holiday for single people. That sounds like an idea that Strong Bad would have fun with. Maybe I'll email him on that subject. Yeah, that idea is copyrighted to me, so don't go stealing it, you bunch of pathetic idea-stealing losers. MY IDEA!

I think I've babbled long enough. If you find yourself without any plans today, go pick up Ted Dekker's newest book, Black, at a Christian bookstore near you. It's amazing. If you live by me, go any day but Tuesday and Saturday next week. That's right, I don't want to see you... ever... again. (Bwa ha ha.)

The end.

P.S. I just discovered that my cat enjoys sleeping on the back of my neck while I bend over and attempt to teach myself how to play guitar. It's really hard to play that way, let me tell you. My neck will be hurting from this for days. All for the love of my cat. Awwww� Alright. Enough sappiness. Back to work, you fools.

P.P.S I haven't updated in a while cuz my folks won't turn on the internet. Apparently this "homework" thing isn't optional. Bah. What do they know...

:: before :: after