a spoonful of random...

where in the world is what's-her-face

written at 4:47 p.m. on 03.27.04
Out of doubt, out of dark, to the day's rising
he rode singing in the sun, sword unsheathing.
Hope he rekindled, and in hope ended;
over death, over dread, over doom lifted
out of loss, out of life, unto long glory.
-Lord of the Rings

Hope is rekindled. Thoughtful, musing people still do exist. I've been finding a lot of really interesting diaries lately. Actually, the authors of said diaries have been finding me either here at tiggersnail or at lady---arwen. It's been very encouraging. I don't always put a heck of a lot of effort writing an entry, but it's nice that other people do. I appreciate that.

Oh, I suppose I could write a little update on the crazy family situation. My folks are no longer threatening to send me to a counselor, and I'm no longer moping about the house looking like Cruella DeVille incarnate. I've managed to brush the hair and even bothered to put on some makeup. In fact, I just went out with my mom and splurged on some new makeup. I'm most excited about some eyebrow stuff I ordered off QVC. I have blonde eyebrows, which has always kinda made me sad. I've been told that I have cool eyes, and they say that a good way to accent your eyes is to really keep your eyebrows fantabulous-looking. (I've heard the word "fantabulous" in so many places from so many people, I'm not sure who deserves credit for that. I'll just claim it as my own. Bwa ha ha.)

Enough makeup talk. Makeup often reminds me of shallow people. I don't like shallow people. How shallow of me.

SO, good news! This diary's coding is valid xHTML transitional! Yup, I worked for about an hour to make that official. Little things like sitemeter kept getting in the way, so I tweaked their code.. I hope they don't mind. I also semi-finished a custom design today, and it is also valid xHTML! Spiffilicious.

That reminds me that the elders at my church still haven't come to a decision as to whether or not I can revamp the church's website. I'm pretty sure I have free reign over the youth group's web page any time I want to start, but I really have been slacking at d8zed-ezines. I don't know where all my time went this week, but I only managed to work on two customs. Yar. Yet, life goes on.

Wow, the laundry sure does pile up after a while. I officially have zero clean shirts left, excluding long-sleeved shirts, collared shirts, and sweaters. All the t-shirts and hoodies are dirty. I don't mean "worn once for two hours" dirty. They don't even pass the "pick up off the floor and sniff" test anymore. I think that's my cue to go down and visit that cute little Downy bear and his friend Tide.

Speaking of tide...tidal waves.. Ok, so I suck at transitions. My brain went from laundry to vacation, and I couldn't think of any fun way to mesh the two together. So, about this vacation. My mother informed me yesterday that I'm in charge of picking the location for the family vacation this summer. I think my family is trying to be nice to me before they shove me out the door and make my room over into a jacuzzi room or something. (Ok, so my mom actually promised not to touch my room until after I got a place of my own, but since I have everybody thinking she's a Nazi, I might as well keep up the illusion.)

I did actually have a reason for bringing that up two or three months in advance. I want advice/ideas from any people out there who consider themselves well-traveled. Heck, I want advice from everyone. Where in the world.. is Carman SanDiego? No, where in the continental U.S. is the best vacation to be found? Virginia Beach and Myrtle Beach were popular with mi familia in years past. I'm willing to stick with the beach theme, or I'm up for other cool ideas, too. I must add that my family is more prone to lean towards touristy vacations rather than hiking and getting dirty vacations. Lazy bums is what we are.

Anyway, talk to me. Sign ye olde guestbook. Leave a note. Email me. Call me. Err.. call me and leave a message. I mentioned my paranoia of phones, right? Yeah. Yuk.

Well, I'm gonna end this entry so I can rearrange the pile of laundry I'm sitting on. I need more lumbar support. The end.

:: before :: after