a spoonful of random...

i have a post-it note on my desk that makes no sense to me

written at 5:41 p.m. on 06.06.05

I feel soooo much more well-rested today. I slept until 3:30pm, when my mom walked in to announce that Gilmore Girls was starting in thirty minutes, giving me ample time to stumble out of bed, check my email and all that goodness, and then wander down the hall to my mom's bedroom for the daily Gilmore Girls showing.

As I was trying to think of a good word for how I get out of bed, I was saddened to realize that I can't exactly "flop" out of bed anymore. The "stumble" part was definitely on the money with the room all a disaster and such. I miss being able to kinda flail around and fall off the bed onto a clean floor. Hmm.. I think I'm going to re-install Windows despite the time crunch I'm in, giving me ample time to do some room-cleaning. I've procrastinated on that long enough, and I'm pretty tired of having to weave my way through sharp-edged boxes and blah blah blah.

So, I just want to make a note that I was originally on the side of the cranky waitress from yesterday's entry. I kept coming up with different excuses of why it was that she was being so.. lacking in the service department. But when she almost whacked my mom in the face with the plate without any apology, was constantly messing up our orders and spilling stuff everywhere, I kinda lost patience with her. I mean.. a bad attitude is one thing. Poor service is another. Even when I had a horrible day and had to put up with annoying people at work at the bookstore, I did my job the way it was supposed to be done, did it with a smile on my face, and eventually managed to have a great time. It's not impossible, and like I said, there are plenty of other industries better suited to people who can't get a grip on their own problems for a few hours a day to serve others with a smile.

So.. quick story time. Saturday, my mom said she'd be home from the graduation party across the street in time to make me dinner. Well, she came back almost an hour after she said she would and offered to make macs & cheese. I said that I thought it was a little hot for a hot meal like that. So, she turned to my brother and asked him if he was cool with it, and after he agreed, she made it. She offered to make me a salad instead, but I told her I'd rather have the macs & cheese because a salad generally leaves me feeling hungry.

Well, yesterday, my dad came in to say he was making hamburgers and to ask if I wanted any. I declined, since I had just had a hamburger the day before. He left to go make them, and I waited for about an hour before going down to make my dinner. I found him just starting his hamburgers, using the toaster oven instead of the George Foreman grill. I was a little bit frustrated that I couldn't make the toast or whatever the heck I was planning on making in the toaster, and grumbled a bit on the way up the stairs. My mom heard me from her bedroom and yelled my name several times. I ignored her as long as possible, hoping it would be a small enough deal that she would let it drop. Nope. Instead, she called me in to tell me that if I didn't stop complaining about food that she was going to stop feeding me. She went on to repeat this about ten times before she let me go. I stomped off, ingeniously shouting "Fine. I'll just move out faster!" on my way back to my room.

Yeah.. so anyway, I was thinking we'd be on bad terms today, still, but she was all cheery and even defended me when my grandma apparently started telling my mom that I needed to be starting my day at 7am, cleaning the house for my mom and yada yada. My mom actually came to my rescue and told my granmda all the hard work I've been putting into this web design business and stuff. I'm flabbergasted! My mom hasn't been proud of me in what seems like ages! So.. I dunno. I'm pretty excited about that.

Well, it's time to go.. umm.. do stuff. Ciao!

P.S. Regarding the title of this entry, I have this post-it note on my desk that makes no sense to me whatsoever. I must've written it when I was umm.. high on chocolate? I don't know. Here is what it says..

ARCHOS
80 HRS
$500

Yeah.. no idea.

P.P.S. Somebody viewed 99 pages in one visit to this site. Umm.. props? You have my sympathy? I don't know what to say to that.

:: before :: after