a spoonful of random...

lions, goats, and midgets! oh my!

written at 10:31 p.m. on 05.19.05

The asiago cheese bagel from breakfast yesterday was delicious. Amazing. Panera Bread excels at making that bagel. It's one of those things that is so good you kinda want to make a "better than sex" reference, but.. as a virgin.. well, I wouldn't know. Soo... I'll just let you conclude that this is one good bagel. Heck, I was making faces while eating this bagel that rival the ones on the Philadelphia Cream Cheese commercials. To add to the awesomeness, my breakfast entertainment came in the form of Calvin and Hobbes. I whipped out one of the many books we have and plunged into the awesomeness.

Now that you've been filled in on my heavenly dining experience, I must proceed to the rest of the events that filled my time from then til now. So, at some point during the day, my mom returned from Sam's Club, muttering about feeling feverish and collapsing weakly on her bed. My mom is rarely sick, so I was a little freaked about the whole experience. I offered my assistance, called my dad to tell him to bring home pizza for dinner (though it was only lunchtime), and let her sleep for a while. She spent the rest of the day sleeping or strewn across the bean-bag chair she stole from my brother's room.

After bring her tea and chocolate chips (and some for myself, of course.. minus the tea), I checked back with my dad about the pizza plan and spent some time browsing through my old entries and following random banners on Diaryland. I did get to play some piano while my my mom was reading, so that was awesome. Kyle ("Silky") called, and we talked for an hour or so, and that about sums up the quiet part of my day.

My dad arrived home with the pizza, my mom and I watched another disc of the third season of Gilmore Girls, and then my dad walked in.

Dad: Hey, Rach?
Me: Yes..?
Dad: Adam's class was supposed to go to see Star Wars tonight, but something came up.
Me: ... Umm. Ok.
Dad: If I had known earlier, I would've taken the day off work tomorrow to go see it with him.
Me: Ok...
Mom: Sweetheart, could you hurry this up a little bit? We are in the middle of a show...
Dad: Sorry. So, we were wondering if you would like us to try to get tickets for you and Adam to go tonight. That way he wouldn't be all by himself at three in the morning when the movie lets out.
Me: Sure...
Dad: Excellent. I'll go see if I can get tickets.

Is it against the law for fathers to do things quickly? I mean, the driving is one thing. But talking? I could get a story out of my dog with more speed and efficiency than out of my dad. And come to think of it, most of my friends' dads aren't that incredibly gifted at the delay-the-point game. My dad's just.. special.

Anyway, I did wind up going to see Star Wars with my brother. Standing in line was.. well.. the most confusing thing I've ever had to do at a movie theater. Since my dad had gotten tickets through Fandango and since someone had already gone to pick up the tickets, my bro and I just walked into the theater, thinking "line time!" I had already cleared it with Jason that he would entertain me on the phone while I was standing in line. However, it took ungodly amounts of concentration to figure out where we were supposed to be.

There was all this fuss about not being able to get in early without a card, so everyone was at a table signing up for a card. I thought one per group was fine, but apparently I was supposed to get one, too. Some lady was telling me to make sure to get one on my way out while Jason was making Chewbacca noises in my ear. I don't think my brain will ever try to be that many places at once again unless I find myself in a room with Brad Pitt, Johnny Depp, Heath Ledger, and Orlando Bloom. Now.. if Elijah Wood was in the mix, we all know where my focus would be... on those gorgeous, sexy eyes of his. He hosted the unveiling of the new X-Box (check out clips at mtv.com.. I only watched the parts featuring him), so I definitely have his image floating through my head. Moreso than usual, that is, which is probably an unhealthy amount. (I learned that he has a movie coming out in September--my birthmonth--and that one of his favorite colors is green.)

Wow, I had all this cool stuff to say, but I keep messing up my own stories with sidetracking thoughts.

Anyway... Star Wars. Amazing. Worthy. Get your butt out to go see it as soon as possible if you already haven't.

I got to bed around 4am, and amazingly, I woke up at 9:30 without an alarm clock. Creepy? I think so. It did help that my cat wasn't poking at my face this morning. I got a very good sleep becaues of that. I went downstairs, had a couple of bowls of Frosted Flakes (again while reading Calvin and Hobbes), played a little piano, and grabbed a glass of orange juice on my way upstairs.

A paragraph about me getting sick was edited out for the sake of those who may be queasy but too curious to follow directions and skip a paragraph like that. Basically, I got sick, had some lovely cramping, and.. post-Midol, slept for three hours or so.

Ok, so we're at mid-afternoon now. I was pleasantly surpirsed to get to catch up with Christen on AIM for a while, reminiscing over the good times at Barnes and Noble all those many moons ago. That convo came to an end when I went to go make toast for dinner. That's when the next fun part of the day came around. The skies turned a dark shade of green, a bolt of lightning flashed brightly across the sky, and the thunder that ensued shook the house. I had time only to inhale before the skies shook loose a hailstorm like no other. I couldn't blink or breathe for fear of disrupting the natural wonder around me. The patio was white within less than a minute, every inch covered with a thick layer of hail. It was beautiful.

That whole ordeal lasted about twenty straight minutes, and then it stopped as abruptly as it had started. Shortly after that, I was browsing through my buddy list. I came across the best.. entry.. ever. Every entry at porktornado is hilarious, but this one included a lion and 48 midgets in the same story. Now that is the best recipe for awesome I have ever encountered.

So.. all the awesome elements of my day were told in a really retarded manner because I'm a horrible story-teller. Get over it. Now then... I have Return of the King to finish watching, so go scamper off and read the entry about the lion and the midgets. Then, check out the hilarity of fainting goats and what happens when you mess with the people at Chinese restaurants. Beware the Australian-Chinese accents. They're borderline bizarre.

Anywho, that's all the post-entry entertainment I can provide for today. Lata, playas!

:: before :: after