a spoonful of random...

welcome home! go back.

written at 8:32 p.m. on 05.09.05

Hey, cool update, guys! My mom hates me! I kid you not! It's a wonderful way to come home, let me tell you!

So, let me back up a bit. Yesterday was Mother's Day, non?! Well, my mother's desire from her penniless children was a day spent with them, bonding. After church, the family went to Friday's, and then my mom and my bro went golfing. While they were out doing that, my dad and I went to buy the third season of Gilmore Girls on DVD. It's a good thing my dad called ahead to Target 'cause they were down to two! By the time we got there to pick up our reserved copy, it was the last one. Crazy, eh?

Well, my mom and I watched two discs of Gilmore Girls (eight episodes), enjoying the heck out of ourselves. We were surrounded by coffee and chocolate. I downed a tier of Double Chocolate Milano cookies and 22 miniature and fun-sized candies (Milky Ways, Hershey's Nuggets, Mounds, etc.) before the end, returning to my room to see the 15 wrappers from earlier that day and downing five more. Yes, I'm a pig. Get over it!!

Anyway, being that it was 10:30pm by the time I returned to my room, the internet had already been turned off (boo on my dad for having dumb rules). I kinda sat at my desk, not knowing what exactly to do. I couldn't chat with people, and I didn't feel like writing my English stuff anymore. I was so lost. I was on my way to the bathroom to take out my contacts and brush my teeth and get ready to just lounge in my room and watch movies on my laptop when I overheard my mom hissing at my dad from the bottom of the stairwell. I had noticed she was getting a little irritable when my dad came downstairs with some cups and gave them to my mom to rinse out and place in the dishwasher (she had been standing by the sink). I figured she was just put out about having to do dishes on Mother's Day. Well, these are some snippets of what I overheard. I'm a pig and an eavesdropper. Ooo.

Dad: Honey, what's wrong?
Mom: I don't know. I just wanted to be treated special. It's my special day. I feel like you give her the same treatment you give me.
Dad: What are you talking about?
Mom: Well, you put her TV tray up for her and cleared her dishes. She didn't need that done for her. You don't treat her any different from me.
Dad: I was just--
Mom: It's always been this way. I don't know if I'm being self-centered or what, but it's always bothered me. It's like I'm not the special woman in your life. I'm one of them. You even call her "Sweetheart," the name you usually reserve for me.
Dad: I'm sorry--

At this point, I shut the door to the bathroom and started crying. From previous conversations with my mom on Saturday, I had been under the impression that I was becoming a burden to the family, taking up food and space and time and energy. I'm surprised I didn't come home to find a banner saying, "GO BACK TO TEXAS." *Sigh* I know my mom doesn't want me living in an apartment with three guys, especially ones she doesn't know, but at least that way I'll be out of her hair. I won't be stealing my dad's precious attention and she can stop being jealous of and annoyed by me.

I can't wait to get a job and enough money to get out of here. I don't know what happened to my awesome, lovable mom, but the replacement sucks.

:: before :: after