a spoonful of random...

get the sticky out with "sticky out" (yar)

written at 8:04 p.m. on 07.31.04

So, another slow day at work. I worked at the "other" store today, which means no customers, no dirt to clean, no clutter to organize, nothing at all. In fact, I picked up a book and started reading the day away. Two hours before I was supposed to leave, the other guy who was working with me gave me permission to leave. I ran. Ran like an Olympian. Granted, more like a cripple from the Special Olympics than a sprinter headed towards Athens, but an Olympian nonetheless.

So, while my Maroon 5 CD is in it's now permanent position in the car stereo, my OC Soundtrack CD has found a new home in my laptop's CD player. Basically, I've been listening to the same two CDs all summer. I did switch things up one time when I drove my brother and his friend Ben from Ben's house to my house. I popped in a little Linkin Park, mostly because my brother doesn't like Maroon 5 and I didn't want him making fun of me on the way home. I think Linkin Park is one of the few bands that both of us enjoy, so it worked. In fact, it worked better than planned; Ben's a fan of their music, too!

Writing that last sentence made me realize how I tend to ignore semicolons, except when writing HTML. We learn all these great writing techniques in school, and most of us promptly forget them, opting for the comma and the period, chucking in the occassional exclamation point and question mark. Poor, neglected semicolon.

I finally got some stuff to remove the non-sticky stickers on my laptop. The ones that were gluing themselves to my wrist more often than to the laptop. The ones that were sticky in a gooey way but not in an attached way. Apparently, the store my mom went to was sold out of Goo-be-gone, so she bought Elmer's Sticky Out. It was a brilliant move. Elmer's makes glue, so they'd be the experts on removing it, right?! Actually, to the surprise of every cynical cell in my body, it worked wonders! The only thing that bothers me about the product is the name. It can be read so many ways, and I just know that some horribly punny person planned it that way.

Get the sticky out with "Sticky Out"!!!
When all else fails, trust Elmer's to get the sticky out!

I'm trying to convince my parents to buy me a digital camera. Without dipping into my birthday money. I don't want a camera for my birthday, because then they always decide to get ten really cheap presents to make up for the greatness of the one nice present. Plus, I've asked for cameras for three years in a row, and for two years in a row, I received a blue-light-special-reject camera of sorts. The other year, I received an i-Zone camera that I used maybe twice. Oh well.

Hey, if anyone is heading off to college, there is a great list here of things to bring. (Opens in a new window.) HGTV actually attempts to cater to this generation!

Oh, I actually attempted to have a social life yesterday! I went to the mall with Josh and Guy, and then we went back to Guy's place to watch Josh's masterpiece of a home video. Really, it's amazing. Music that is cued to the exact millisecond, fading in and out at key points, hilarious dance scenes.. Good fun.

It was a little weird to be back at Guy's house, sitting on the same spot on the same couch.. but I never shared that story here, did I? Oops. Now isn't the time. After the weirdness wore off, though, it was a lot of fun. Guy was even supportive and encouraging about the whole me-being-a-jerk-and-a-baby situation. (Not supportive of me being a jerk or anything. Somebody must know what I was trying to say, so I see no need to rewrite that for the rest of y'all.)

Ha, ok, guess what song just came on? Yeah, "We Used To Be Friends" by the Dandy Warhols. Hilarious!

Ok, well, I'm tired of being "almost finished" with CookieDesigns.net. I'm going to try to wrap stuff up this weekend. I just want to get it posted now so I can get opinions now!! Sigh.

Alright, I'm off to finish the site and to frolic with my hobbits.

The end.

:: before :: after