a spoonful of random...

Yes, I'm still mad that I couldn't watch the Smurfs.

written at 3:19 p.m. on 06.05.06

If I had a nickel for every time someone told me, "Your parents are crazy," I would have enough money to move back to Texas right now.

My parents are notorious for being strict and somewhat ridiculous. I wasn't allowed to watch The Smurfs as a child because the evil magician fellow was considered too evil and magical by my father. I was not allowed to wear pants of any sort to church until I was almost eighteen years old. Until I left for college, I had to have the approval of my parents before watching any movie or purchasing any CD.

I probably would have grown accustomed to living in such a bubble had not my friends constantly belittled me for not having the freedoms they enjoyed. I grew to resent the fact that my parents would not treat me like an adult, even when the entire United States government considered me one.

Honestly, life could be much worse. I could have parents who physically or sexually abuse me. I could be living in the streets or eating Wonderbread. In comparison to a lot of people, I've got a pretty swell life, but that still doesn't stop people for making me feel like I'm missing out on something. That doesn't stop friends, coworkers, relatives, even complete strangers from trying to make me dissatisfied with my family and the parenting policies with which I have been raised.

All this is to say... The fact that my internet is getting shut off at 6:30pm every night for a week because I did not finish doing my chores last week... Well, it really is getting a tad bit ridiculous.

My name is Rachel, and I'm surprised that I don't have a drinking problem.

:: before :: after