a spoonful of random...

oddly, it's nice to be back

written at 9:54 p.m. on 01.09.05

Exhaustion. That is the one word that keeps coming to mind. I was up until like 3am packing, though I only finished like half of the job. I then was woken up at 6:30am to get ready and to finish packing. We left my house close to 9, arrived at the airport in plenty of time, and spent probably a good 20 minutes just wandering around after getting my bags checked so that I could calm down. The fact that leaving was such a traumatic experience for me this time and that I was running so low on sleep resulted in almost non-stop crying until I finally forced myself to hug my family goodbye and to sniffle my way through security. On the other side of the gates, I finally recovered some control by losing myself in a book.

The flight to Dallas was pretty uneventful. I finished Watermelon for the umpteenth time and started plowing through Catch-22, which I had been reading in bits and pieces over break. The old man next to me on the flight was silent, save for a cordial, "Hello, how are you?" when he sat down. The trip from Dallas to Longview was more exciting, since a lot of LeTourneau kids were on the flight. I actually wound up across the aisle from Katie (a friend on my floor) and a guy named Scott, who turned out to be nice and funny.

Well, here I am, in a rather productive mood despite my lack of energy. I cleaned out one bin in my closet, and just finished scooping out the stray stuff on the floor of my closet into the newly-clean bin for later sortage. I'm just takin a wee break, since my contacts are blurry and I am tired.

I've already managed to reunite with my buddies Sheryl and Monik and even a friend from G1 (Courtney). It's been a blast. Honestly, Sheryl and I were so excited to see each other, I think we scared everyone within a few mile radius with our squeals of delight.

Boy and Pimp just stopped in to kidnap me and to take me out for pizza. I'm so excited! Gotta run, though. Ciao!

:: before :: after