a spoonful of random...

singing solo to a dead possum

written at 11:42 p.m. on 05.08.04
Ok, after three ridiculous attempts at writing here today, I finally remembered stuff to say! The choir concert.. Thursday night.. ok, this might be short, but I'll forget to write about it if I don't do it now.

So, I was super-psyched about this concert. I sing alto normally, but a lot of the songs the choir director picked for this concert had really high tenor parts and somewhat high alto parts. So, Katie (my friend and fellow alto) and I volunteered to sing tenor for what ended up being five out of the seven songs, or something like that. Anyway, the choir is really short on guys, so there was only one true tenor to sing with Katie and I, and three basses. The guys have really strong voices and manage to outsing the twenty-something altos and sopranos.

Anyway, the night of the concert arrives (Thursday), and I get the news that Katie is sick. She won't be singing tenor with me. It's just me and Joel (the true tenor). But, no worries, we're both pretty loud, and we know our parts backwards and forwards.

The choir is gathered downstairs in the choir room, and the choir director had just finished praying. I see Joel pounce on the nearby box of tissues. I think nothing of it. The choir shuffles upstairs, Joel still has tissues in his hands. I'm puzzled, but not for too long. The choir is gathered at the back of the sanctuary, preparing to go up front, when Joel leaves to go to the bathroom. He has a nosebleed.

Panic sets in. What if he doesn't make it back in time to sing the first song? Will he be too embarrassed to come upstage between songs? Ah! I can't sing the tenor part alone! People will think that I'm the choir's "manly girl." Poor Joel!

We sing through the first song without him. I'm shaking like a leaf. Some of these songs sound really bad without a strong tenor sound. My voice against twenty other people. Mmm.. not good. The fact that I'm so nervous that my throat closes up, ..that's not good either. The fact that I'm trembling so violently that even my voice is trying to flutter up an down... This is not good. But like I said, we made it through the first song without Joel. And the second song. And the third, fouth, fifth, sixth, and seventh. He never made it to the concert.

Pardon me while I shudder at the memories.

Anyway, after the concert, the annual PTO Purchase Award was announced. Every year, the PTO buys one student's work of art to display at the school. This year, my good friend Allison won! That was really exciting, and I'm not even the one who won. Think how excited she must be!

After I farted around a while to look at all the artwork (the art department displays a bunch of student art in a gallery-type thing the night of the PTO purchase award thingemabob), I followed a bunch of people to Oberweiss to sip about one-fifth of a chocolate shake. I wasn't hungry, but my eyes are always bigger than my stomach and my brain always forgets that part. After ice cream, a group of people went back to school and we were hanging out at the playground. I tell ya, you can never get too old for swinging.

Christen and I went to go back towards our houses (since we both live pretty far from school and from the majority of my schoolmates). Oh, on the way, I experienced one of the most disturbing feelings in my entire life. Picture this.. Christen is leading me over the river and through the woods on these back roads as a short-cut. I have no idea if it actually got us home faster, but it was way more interesting than the normal route. Anyway, we're rounding this corner, and all of a sudden, I feel my car run over some huge bump with a sickening thud. I was freaked out that I had hit a mailbox or had run over a small child or something.

Well, when we finally get to the donut shop near our houses, Christen confesses that she hit a possum. She saw it, thought it was dead, and figured she could just run over it, since there was traffic coming the other direction. Then she revealed that mere seconds before the impact, she saw it look up at her. I, of course, gasped in horror. If her car didn't kill it, mine certainly did! I can't believe we killed a possum!

Heh.. Teen Girl Squad.. "Possuuuums!!!"

Anywho, that wasn't really that interesting, but I had to talk about the disastrous choir concert before I forgot. It's something I want to forget now, but I'll want to remember it later.

Well, for the bazillionth time today.. the end!

:: before :: after