a spoonful of random...

coloring books. yes, i'm desperate for topics.

written at 9:28 p.m. on 08.21.04

I've been learning a lot about myself lately. I'd share all the results of my research, but that gets boring rather quickly. Plus, I wouldn't want any documentation of any "flaws" getting in my way anywhere down the road.

I went to Culver's tonight in Lake Geneva to say goodbye to some family friends. They gave me a gift, saying it was what every college girl needs. And the gift was.. (drum roll, please).. bags of Dove chocolate bites, both in dark and milk chocolate. Woo-hoo!

Anyway.. I'm almost finished packing my stuff. This is the one part of procrastinating that I don't mind--finishing a seemingly impossible task in a seemingly impossible amount of time. I guess I work well under pressure. Then again, sometimes I crack under pressure. Heck, I don't care, so I'm guessing nobody else cares either.

I'm doing my best to enjoy these last few days of solitude. Sharing a room is going to be a weird experience. Rewind. Sharing anything is going to be a weird experience. Now, I love to give people things, but I'm not a big fan of sharing. Giving someone something allows the interaction to end. You give, they receive, life moves on. Sharing, on the other hand, involves perpetual communication and interaction. I let you borrow, you give back, you borrow again, I take back, you borrow once again, I sit in angry silence waiting for you to give it back.. It's only a piece of ribbon, but come on!!

I think one of the worst parts of the experience will actually be the car ride there. Sixteen hours in a van. Three inches from my brother. Surrounded by boxes and bins and baggage. (And bears and burrs and bees and anything else that starts with the letter "B," apparently.) A claustrophic's nightmare. I just hope I don't run out of batteries. I plan to surround myself in battery-operated electronic gadgets and hopefully create a little paradise in the midst of the chaos. I also receieved a paper-back version of each of the three Lord of the Rings books, so I don't have to risk my nice hardcover, practically antique books getting ruined. Oh, and my mom went to Wal-mart the other day with a friend and was nice enough to let my brother and I send along a short wishlist. On my list of "Things I want to bring on the trip" was a Precious Moments coloring book and some crayons. So, BINGO! I have my coloring book and crayons. I'm happy. I hate Precious Moments, but they have cute coloring books. Yes, I like to color. Laugh at me, and I'll make sure your face is black and blue. I did also continue the tradition of bringing one bag of Peanut M&M's and one box of Chocolate Teddy Grahams. Ah, the fun of making and keeping stupid traditions.

Well, I'm wasting a lot of time. I should be finishing my laundry and my packing. Sigh.

:: before :: after