a spoonful of random...

logic escapes my family once more

written at 2:37 p.m. on 03.25.04
So, I'm in a much better mood these days. I owe a lot to the awesome people who simply leave a sweet note in the guestbook or send me encouraging emails and whatnot. I'm honestly feeling a lot better, and I've even got a smile on my face to prove it. Oh right, you can't see my face. Bwa ha ha.

Oh, breaking news in the Sankey household. My mom thinks I'm depressed or abnormal or something. Yes, yes, I was sad for about a week. Big whoop. People have mood swings, right? It's legal. I am notorious for my random and drastic mood swings. But, apparently I am the only one with a shred of logic in this family of mine. My mom decided that she wants to make some "appointments" for me to meet with a "counselor." In layman's terms.. I'm going to see a quack. However, I think that after a few days of smiles, she'll forget the whole thing ever happened.

Dang, it's been so long since I wrote! Why? Well, that's another interesting story about my quirky mother. Let's back it up a month, shall we?

So, four or five weeks ago, on a Tuesday, the other members of the chapel band decide, "Hey, let's set up all the instruments in the middle of the stage tomorrow for chapel! Yeah!!"

I roll my eyes and start yelling over the clamor, "But guys, that means I have to bring in my keyboard! I can't hear you if I play from the piano!" The piano is off to the left of the stage and the monitor system is horrible, and you basically hear nothing at the piano except a really delayed, really echo-ish version of what's happening center-stage.

"Yeah, is that going to be a problem?" they ask.

"Kinda, yes, actually... I made a deal with my mom, and I can only bring in the keyboard if I go to youth group the week before." Yeah, that's hard to say without getting extremely embarassed.

"Err.. Umm.. That's dumb. We're setting up in the middle anyway."

Sigh. So, I go home, beg and plead with my mom, manage to swipe the keyboard, and chapel proceeds. Here's the fun part. The cords go missing. The AC adapter and the pedal just up and disappear. I have spent the past four or five weeks looking everywhere for these *#$& cords!! Last Thursday night, my mom told me, "Don't come home from school tomorrow without those cords."

"Yes, ma'am." Whatever, like I was even listening. I have a robot trained to say "Yes, ma'am" after everything she says. Ok, not true, but my brain is definitely on auto-pilot when I speak to/with her.

I left school Friday without even a thought about the freakin cords. Who gives a rip anyway? She doesn't even use the keyboard! Apparently, that doesn't matter. Ruining my Spring Break is what matters. I've been grounded from everything but playing the Sims since Sunday-ish because mi madre wanted me to call the church office (the school is in a church building) and ask if maybe the secretary had a lost and found pile she could rummage through or something. I hate the phone. I hate it with a passion. Making this phone call sounded scary. Add that to my rebellious "I don't want to do anything you tell me to do" nature, and this phone call didn't happen until today. Several arguments and a phone call later, here I am, entertaining nobody but myself and loving it.

::Deep breath::

More has happened! Today I went downtown (Chicago) to visit Roosevelt University. The tour didn't start until 11am, and thanks to the train schedule, we arrived at 9:30. Yar. So, my dad ushered me into the building, where the unfriendly secretary ushered me to the Admissions Counselor's office. The unfriendly Admissions Counselor asked me if I knew anything about Roosevelt. I said "Actually, not really." She said, "Oh, ok. Do you have any questions?"

My goodness, lady! It's your job to sell your school to me. Don't make me pry the information out of you one question/answer at a time!! Good gravy. The awkward interview ended awkwardly and my dad and I awkwardly walked out of the building to waste an hour or so in Chicago.

We wound up at the Corner Bakery, since I hadn't had any breakfast yet. I choked down a most unpleasant muffin, and we lingered around and walked back with twenty minutes to spare still. By the way, I think the Corner Bakery is overrated. Their bakery products suck. I think Panera and Caribou Coffee should merge to create "Panibou." It has a nice ring to it, yes? (For those of you who aren't blessed to have Caribou's in the area, the place has a very homey feel with the best coffee in the world. Their other beverages rock too. The people who work there are really nice, to boot! Quality drinks, quality service, quality atmosphere.. Caribou!!) Anyway, that's my opinion. No more Corner Bakery places, no more Starbucks (well, maybe a few), and many more Panibous.

After the horrid run-in with the muffin, my dad and I headed back to the college, where we were lead on our very own tour by Paula. She was very cool and very nice. Talking with her made me want to go to Roosevelt, but she graduates in May anyway. The one huge downside to going to Roosevelt is the fact that it is mainly a commuter school. So many college memories are formed in dorm experiences.. I can't imagine giving that up. The other crapola thing is that the music programs are only open to music majors, which means no choir for me, no impromptu piano solos in the middle of a choir piece, no nothing. There is a piano in the student area. It's shoved up against a pole, so you can't even pull the bench out, but it's there nonetheless.

Roosevelt is still an option though. It's between LeTourneau and Roosevelt. Now, I must sit down and decide. Texas? Chicago? Canada? Haha, ew. Canada. I can't believe I used to want to live there. I think I read a Nancy Drew book set in Canada or something. Maybe I read a Native Americanish book or two or something. I don't know. Maybe I was dropped on my head as a child. Canada. Psh.

Ok, well, I am going through chocolate withdrawal, so I must go satiate my tastebuds with the gloriousness of pre-seasonal Easter candy. Mmm. Or maybe it's post-seasonal Valentine's candy. Ew. Whatever. It's chocolate.

The end.

:: before :: after