a spoonful of random...

i got me a cell phone. and some motivation. huzzah!

written at 5:52 p.m. on 10.09.05

Sweet mother of Moses! I haven't updated in ages! Dang it! Where has the time gone?!?!

That's one of the downsides of this whole "job" thing. My week is over before I can finish a decent yawn-and-stretch combo. My money is usually spent by that time, as well. I've slipped into the habit of telling myself "you need this!" instead of "you want this!"

For example, I spent $25 on a Barnes and Noble membership card. It will come in handy because I buy a ton of books for myself, for others, and for school purposes. That one should pay for itself in a few books though (10% off pretty much everything.. sweet deal!)

The real splurge is the cell phone I just purchased through Cingular. Yeah.. I've been without a cell phone for a year now, and it's killing me. Granted, I borrowed my dad for a month and a half last semester, but that wasn't really my phone or my minutes or anything like that. I am now spending $50+/mo. to get 450 minutes, 5000 night & weekend minutes, unlimited mobile-to-mobile minutes, enhanced voicemail, caller ID, a bunch of other standard options, 200 text messages, 100 media messages (?), and 1MB of MEdia Net usage or something like that. Jason wanted me to go with Sprint (he and Haynes both use their services), but Sprint was gonna ass-rape me for less minutes and less text-messaging and no free mobile-to-mobile and yada yada, so I decided to stick with good ole' Cingular.

Life's been busy. School is still good, though I missed quite a few classes in a row. I still will be able to maintain straight As easily though. *phew* Work is also splendiferous, though being the only single girl has already made for several interesting situations with customers, coworkers, etc. Social life stopped being non-existent, but it's still pretty darn close. I'd like to join my coworkers for their after-work shindigs, but I'm not 21 and.. well.. I'll tell the other reason later.

Oh yeah.. and I've been told twice this month that I have traces of an accent. "Did you grow up in Texas or did you just go there for school?"

"Just for school.. and just last year."

"Oh well.. you can tell. You have a bit of an accent."

"Noooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!" *thud* (Well, there would be a *thud* there if I actually fainted. Sadly, I can't just faint on the spot like that. It'd make dramatic sequencees sooo much more alive and enthusiastic.)

I think that's life in a nutshell. School, good. Work, good. Friends, meh and good. Major purchase, cell phone. Major dilemma, accent and something else.

Oh! And go me! I just cleaned my desk inside and out today. I also washed off my metal mesh hanging-file folder holder (I couldn't resist the rhyme there). It got pop on it somehow, which I thoroughly scrubbed off with a toothbrush. I also filed all my financial paperwork in an organized way so I can find it later. :) I don't know what got into me, but I then moved on to doing my missed homework and the stuff that is due later this week. Yay for motivation!!

:: before :: after