a spoonful of random...

Whoa dang, please make the rambling stop.

written at 7:08 p.m. on 08.20.06

The banner at the top of this add-an-entry page is making me wish to abandon Diaryland for good.

"Why do CHRISTIANS have to ruin everything?"

Mmm... intolerance and prejudice... tasty. *Scrolls down page as to avoid looking at distasteful banner.*

SO! Arr, me hearties! I have missed thee greatly! Exclamation points are the new currency of the internet!! I'm rich!!!!

Okay, so seriously... it's about damn time for a life update. Let me wrap up July in as few words as possible, seeing that I completely failed to update during the entire bloody month.

July: Worked forty hours a week at an office supply store. Retail is "teh sux." People are idiots. Pen refills are in the pen section. No, I will not honor your expired coupon. Learn to read. EAT MY SHORTS, INCOMPETENT PEOPLE OF THE WORLD.

*shudder*

The month of August has been just as awful as and even more conflicted than July. Back-to-school season brings all the cranky mothers and their spoiled children to office supply stores across the nation to trash the aisles and harrass the poor employees. On top of that, I randomly had the urge to go back to Texas. This fall. For school. Even though I hadn't made any attempts to sort out any of the important details, like HOW TO PAY FOR TUITION. I kid you not, it was less than two weeks ago that I decided that I needed to go.

My manager offered me a raise and a promotion if I stayed, which caused some serious hesitation on my part. Staying and working would give me the opportunity to pay off my student loans from the first time around and maybe even get a car. Leaving would require taking huge financial risks and abandoning all hope of graduating college with less than $800 million dollars in debt.

Decisions, decisions.

On Saturday, August 12, 2006, I left a note on my manager's office door telling him that I would only be able to work through the end of the next week. I had made up my mind. I would rather throw myself into massive amounts of debt now and increase my chances of getting out of retail and into a job that I actually want. Being forty years old and a college freshman is not an option I want to consider. Edumahcation, here I come.

Yesterday was my last day at work, and I must say that I will miss all my coworkers dearly. I was blessed with some of the coolest coworkers in the history of the world, and I'll never forget them. Even sadder than that, however, is the fact that I still don't have financing for school. Anybody have $20,000 to spare? Yeah, me neither. Soo.. as it stands, I have no job, no money for school, and a hell of a lot of packing to do if I'm going to commence the drive to Texas on Wednesday morning.

I guess it's a good thing I work well under pressure. Yay for procrastination!

:: before :: after