a spoonful of random...

my stalker - a true story, part seven

written at 9:24 p.m. on 07.07.04

Big news! I got a laptop! Since my dad's old company kinda dissipated into non-existence, there were a ton of sweet computers being sold for very low prices. All the laptops were sold by the time my dad caught wind of the sale, but he managed to snag a nice desktop for my brother. This in turn gave me the opportunity to steal his laptop, which he never used anyway. So, I'm happy cuz I have a laptop that is faster than my old computer plus it has more room. My brother will be happy when he gets home from Utah, cuz he won't have to use the "family" computer for gaming anymore. My mom is happy cuz she won't have to boot my brother off the computer every ten minutes when she wants to check the status of one of her online Scrabble games. My dad is happy just because he gets to play with computers some more, even thought that's what he gets paid to do all day. Whoo-hoo! Three cheers for a happy, technologically satisfied family!

I'm listening to some wonderful piano jazz courtesy of one of those stupid internet radio stations that Windows Media Player is so anxious to hook you up with. I'm a wee bit upset that when I clicked on the link for the page in my Media Player, the site took over my add-an-entry page, thereby erasing my entire two paragraphs of geniusness. Oh well. Such is life. I suppose I could write this in Notepad and save it often and therefore eliminate this problem, but.. that's no fun.

The current song that is playing is called "Bolivar Blues" and is played by the Thelonious Monk Quartet. It sounds eerily like the Cruella DeVille song from 101 Dalmations. Hmm..

Oh, keep your fingers crossed that my dad doesn't wind up doing a repeat performance of my last computer switch. I told him I was done saving all my Sims info, and he heard, "I'm done saving all my info." So, he wiped the entire computer clean. I lost all my school work and all my design work. That was beyond frustrating. I seriously cried about that, since a lot of my AP English work was lost, and that sucked majorly. Oy. I still shudder at the memory. Meanwhile, I'm hoping and praying that he's more patient this time, since I actually have a finished design that I want to post and a ton of half-started crap that I would like to finish. My room may need a Clean Sweep, but not my computer.

OH! I finally got my address and telephone number for college! Whoo-hoo! I'll probably send out a mass email with the info, or maybe I'll just make people ask for it if they want it. Then again, that's just begging for more stalker action.

Speaking of stalkers.. Yes, that's right, I'm going to smoothly transition into (hopefully) the final chapter of the stalker novel. (Click here for part 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, or 6.)

My Stalker - Part Seven

This gives new meaning to the Never-ending Story, which has either ended or has taken a very long break. Land Before Time I-MCMLXI was more of a never-ending story, if you ask me. Anyway, moving right along.

So, the freakin phone beeps again, this time pushing midnight on Thursday night. I was tempted to pull a Hollywoodesque move and chuck the phone out the window. Several problems would have risen had I attempted this maneuver. First, my windows were closed. Second, I have screens on my windows anyway. Third, my aim is a wee on the unpredictable side these days. I used to be quite athletic, oddly enough, playing soccer and baseball with my dad and my brother all the time. However, that was before my mom got a job and left me to watch as much TV as I wanted. I now get my exercise moving from my room to the kitchen and back again. Oh, and playing the piano takes a lot of arm muscle.. and finger muscle.. Wow, I'm really off track, and it's so early in the game. That's scary.

OK, forgive me. Back to the story. So, the message read, "Rachel, r u still there?" Sender: Matt Cell. YARrrrrrrrrr. Mind you, these messages are still on my phone, so these are direct quotes, except for my responses, since I cleared out my outbox. Yes, again, I'm getting off track.

I responded, "Yeah, why? You know, dude, you're starting to creep me out a little."

He asked why, and I said, "Umm, well, cuz I asked you not to text me anymore and you're still here. I also wrote something not trusting him or something." While I was writing this, he was typing out, "That was a nice joke your friend jason pulled today" (Note the irritating lack of capitalization and punctuation.)

After sending my message and receiving that one, I typed back, "Oh, sorry about that. He wanted to talk to you, and I guess it got a little carried away. I apologize. Why did you respond, though?"

He had just responded to the other message I had sent, asking "How did u lose your trust in me" I laughed to myself, responding, "Well, honestly, I never really did trust you. I have no way of knowing who you really are."

The conversation was continually a message off, which was a tad bit frustrating. He texted, "Becuse thats going to be my job, is he your boyfriend"

At that, I seriously almost choked trying to stifle the laughter. Remember, this was midnight, and my folks were already sleeping and snoring down the hall. So, I took a minute to calm myself down and to wipe the tears from my eyes, typing "No, just a friend." Now, actually, I wasn't as control of myself as I'm trying to sound. The first message had me shaking, literally. My whole body was trembling in fear, cuz no matter how much Josh told me otherwise, I still had this little part of me that believed Matt was a detective. Honestly, I was scared silly. But, I managed to pull myself together with a self-pep-talk and a slap in the face.

Matt responded with "Nevermind then." I was so confused, and I said that, typing, "Yar, I am so confused." I couldn't figure out why he needed to know if Cribbet was my boyfriend. If there was legal stuff going on, would I have to be involved? Was this guy really a detective, and if so, was I in trouble for anything? I could just imagine being one of those stories people scoff at in police books, the "typical teenager" who gave away all her information at the drop of a hat.

While I had been typing, he asked me if I wanted him to stop texting me. He then asked what I was confused about, and I responded with, "This whole thing is just getting ridiculous." Actually, my real words are getting fuzzy in my memory, but I'm trying to piece this together from his text messages. Anyway, he asked, "How"

I said something like, "Well, for starters, why did you need to know if Cribbet was my bf or not?" He said, "I was just asking becuse that was a cruel joke and i thought he was and he was just trying to get back at me"

"Oh, no. He was just having fun."

OK, from here on out, the conversation is really getting fuzzy. He apologized, saying he had no intentions, to which I responded with something like, "I'm sure you didn't, honestly, and I'm sorry you got involved in all of this." I wound up sounding nicer at this point than at the beginning of the convo, which led him to ask, "Were u sleeping?" I wasn't, and I told him that, and then I asked him if Cribbet ever left him alone, since I wanted to know what was up with that whole situation, hoping that if I played dumb, I would get the "truth" from Matt. Sure enough, he 'fessed up to playing a game, pretending to be a detective. At this point, all shaking stopped, and I felt a twinge of seething rage course through my body. All the damage he did to my nerves and emotions.. all as a joke. Twerp. If only he knew how freaked out we all were. Ugh.

Anyway, I asked him if he ever let Cribbet know it was a joke, since I hadn't heard from Jason in a while. He said, "At the end, is your boyfriend over"

Ah, another strange and awkward attempt at transitioning. I said, "Actually yes, though he's out getting me chocolate now. He should be back in ten minutes or so." Yeah, that scenario couldn't be farther from the truth. A guy at my house after midnight, out buying me chocolate?! Bwa ha ha.. Sooo hilariously inconceivable. But, my stalker buddy bought it anyway.

Intimidated by the thought of my imaginary boyfriend, he texted back, "Ill let u go by the way where do u work"

GEEZ, did you not catch the whole "I don't want to talk to you because you seem too stalkerish" drift? GAH!

"Umm, I'm not actually comfortable giving out that info, sorry. It was nice talking to you. Bye."

"Goodnight do u want me to stop texting u"

The ultimate DUH scenario. "Umm, yeah, I think that's probably best, considering my paranoia and my bf. Sorry. Good luck with the gf scenario, though! Bye."

Don't ask me why I bothered being nice at this point. I wasn't exactly in the best of shape at that time. I received the final text, "Good luck to u too" I breathed the biggest sigh of relief ever, and then collapsed into my bed in a pile of frazzled nerves and worn emotions.

I think I wound up calling Josh the next day to update him on the final situation, making sure I was out of earshot from my intrusive mother. He, of course, frolicked in his big moment of, "SEE! I TOLD YOU SO!" and I sat there, unusually tolerant, simply relieved that my life was sliding back to it's normal track of luxurious boredom.

And that concludes the stalker story, once and for all, and just in time for me to get off the computer. Now, I suppose I will have to start thinking of things to say in the upcoming entries, since I can't rely on this anymore. Oh well. Like I said, I'm just glad it's over.

THE END!!

:: before :: after