a spoonful of random...

my stalker - a true story (still), part five

written at 10:13 p.m. on 07.01.04

Yikes. Today was busy! Actually, come to think of it, the day just seemed busy. I woke up and went to a job interview at Circuit City. The guy who interviewed me was really nice, and he said I was perfect for the job. The only deal is, he's not sure he can convince his supervisor to hire another seasonal worker. I'm going to ask if maybe they can at least recommend me to a Circuit City near LeTourneau, so in the offchance that I get to take the car with me to Texas, I can have a job that pays well all set up for me when I get there. How nice would that be?! The start pay is like ten times more than what I'm making now. Ok, exaggeration aside, it pays a heck of a lot better than my current job.

I have a few ideas for more diaries at Diaryland. The first one would be called "Dear Cookie," and it would follow a Dear Abby format. Basically, overdramatic people writing in for super-sarcastic Cookie-ish answers. Bwa ha ha. Another idea is for a site that offers Diaryland tips for newbies. I've actually had quite a few people email me with help setting up designs and other stuff at Diaryland, so I'm thinking there are quite a few people out there who have questions, questions that need answering. Ah, Lord of the Rings. :)

So, I suppose I should attempt to wrap up this stalker story finally. (The story starts here.)

My Stalker - Part Five

After the "Good night, rachel" message, I spent another hour or so reading. I knew it was a dumb thing to do, since I was meeting up with Cribbet for lunch the next day and I hate being tired when I have things to do.

I woke up the next morning, saw my cell phone sitting on my headboard, and the memory of the past days events flooded my brain in a most unpleasant manner. It was one crappy way to wake up. After sorting out all my emotions and thoughts and putting them all away carefully, I wandered downstairs for breakfast. I actually woke up later than I wanted to, so I rushed to get ready on time. I texted Cribbet to make sure he was awake, and then I grabbed my keys and headed out into the garage. I opened the garage door to be greeted by rain, rain, and more rain. Of course. It's sunny every day that week except the day I'm supposed to be saying goodbye to a depressed, pessimistic friend. Just great.

We actually planned on eating at Panera, but that plan went right down the toilet when we arrived and saw that the line was out the door and the parking lot was completely full. People were parking in the nearby Best Buy parking lot and walking over, but even Best Buy's parking lot was full by Panera. I wasn't about to walk a half of a mile and then wait in line for four hours. So, we drove over to Steak & Shake. By this point, I realized that my mom had borrowed my car the day before and had run me almost entirely out of gas. Super great! (Heh, that was a cheer I used to do, back when I was a cheerleader.. You're not alone; the question "Why?" plagues me too.)

So, driving with nothing more than a shotglass full of gas, I arrived at Steak & Shake. Of course, one of the first things I think of to talk about is the stalker situation. I told Cribbet everything, letting him read all the text messages off my phone and making him listen to the voice message. Well, Cribbet, as usual, decided it would be fun to pick on this kid. I had asked him for suggestions on what to say to get this guy to leave me alone. He said I should say something about having a boyfriend, which is exactly what I had been thinking. The only problem was, Matt knew I was single. So, in came the infamous "ex." Granted, I don't really have an "ex," but who cares. I needed a way out. So, while Cribbet was texting him to say "Hi, Matt *last name*," I was thinking up the wording for my next text. Well, it took me a while to think up something to say, and meanwhile, Cribbet was beginning a full-fledged conversation with Matt. Cribbet had told him that he was "a friend of Rachel." When Matt asked for his name, Cribbet responded, "A. Friend." Matt responded, "Well, A. Friend, how r u doing?"

Cribbet said, "I'm dying." Matt replied, "Why?" To this Cribbet wrote, "AIDS."

(By the way, that's totally untrue. I mean, we're all dying in a sense, but Cribbet doesn't have any fatal diseases, at least not AIDS.)

I, meanwhile, finally decided to write, "Hey Matt! Unfortunately, I won't be able to talk to you anymore. I got together with my ex last night, and he's a pretty jealous guy. It was nice talking to you though! Bye!"

It took Matt a while to disengage himself from his convo with Cribbet long enough to respond to me. When he finally did, I was infuriated. He wrote, "Who is this?" My immediate reaction was, "WHAT THE??" You've only been the eleventh plague in my life, and you don't even have me in your address book or anything?! How can you not know who I am?! OY!

So.. It's time for me to get off the computer for the night. It looks like the stalker story's conclusion will have to wait for another day. Don't worry, not much is left. Just a major heart attack and some good stuff like that.

Oh, and I'll be playing piano for a funeral tomorrow, and I'm not sure when it starts or ends, so if I don't answer the phone, that's why. I'm gonna try and start on my to-call list tomorrow. Yeah, the list that's becoming almost as long as my movies-to-watch list, the list that wraps around the earth's equator five times.

ANYWAY, the end. Good night.

:: before :: after