a spoonful of random...

my stalker - a true story, part four

written at 10:20 p.m. on 06.30.04

This reminds me of the days when I used to count how many clicks it took me to get to the "add an entry" box. Freakin servers always being overloaded at night. Why can't you people update at other times of the day?! I have reasons! Namely, I have parents who enjoy making really illogical rules. But, I whine about that all the time, so moving right along.

I'm not sure I feel like telling more of the stalker story today. Let's check the guestbook and see if any bothered to comment. If no one cares, we'll move on to other things.

::Pause while I check ye olde guestbook.::

Ok, so let me respond to this message: "Rach, you forgot to tell everyone about how I told you to not responde, and you did anyway, because you didn't want to be mean! Make sure you emphasize how much I was right about the whole thing! Love ~ josH n."

Yeah, so Josh was scolding me almost as much as my mother, possibly moreso. He told me not to respond and just to ignore the guy. And he was right about everything except the not responding trick.

I guess I have no choice but to launch into the telling of the story.. yet again. (Check out part one, part two, and part three by clicking on the appropriate links.)

My Stalker - Part Four

So, I did take Josh's advice initially on not responding. When I left off yesterday, I was in bed, staring at my cell phone in shock. The last thing I said to Matt had been something along the lines of "Goodbye," and the last thing he said was something like, "Still here!" But, as I said, I was being a good girl and ignoring the guy. Yes, "was" is the key word in that sentence.

The message I received at 11:40 that night said something like, "Rachel, u there?" I continued following instructions and ignored the phone. Then, much to my horror, the phone began ringing. Mind you, my mom and brother were trying to sleep. My cell phone rings pretty loudly in comparison to dead silence! The piercing sound of the ring was silenced when I hit the power button, which actually just turns off the sound in the middle of an incoming call. That's all I wanted it to do. Then, the infamous, "1 Missed Call" beep. I knew it had been Matt, since the Caller ID display again said that the ID was blocked.

I put the phone on my headboard again and returned to reading my book. (For those of you interested in knowing, I was reading The Hours. I'm in one of those horrible predicaments where I'm half-way through ten books, so it takes forever to get to the end of anything.. it's frustrating in a nice way.) So, I'm sitting there trying to become fascinated again with what I'm reading, but I'm really distracted by the whole "stalker" situation.

I put my book down and flicked off my lights. I was kinda just laying on top of my bed, staring at my ceiling, when I heard another beep. I prayed that it wasn't another text message. I picked up my phone, only to be surprised by the words "1 New Voice Message." Well then, the creepiness level was definitely rising rapidly. Now he had progressed to calling and leaving messages.

Frightened but curious as ever, I listened to the message. It's actually still on my phone. Josh, you have to listen to it. Seriously, it's hilarious. The sound of his voice.. it's hard to describe but it had me about ready to fall off my bed laughing. It's the kind of voice that's shaky with nerves or fear and you can just picture it belonging to someone with huge glasses, someone who is always shoving those glasses up their nose (that sounds odd, I know), someone who defines the term bashful and possibly the term nerdy. No offense to Matt, but his voice is just stereotypical. My brother has a variation of this voice, more along the lines of a "sometimes confident" nerd.

Anyway, I suppose I could listen to the message again and write down what he said. Here we go.. "Hey Rachel, this is Matt. Umm, just callin to say hi to ya.. Hopefully you have a good night,.. or if you're still working.. you have a good night at work. If you want to text me back later or whatever, .. I'll be glad to do it. Well.. I look forward to talking to ya. .. Talk to ya later."

And though I said the other day that this was sent at 11:40-ish, I guess it was sent at 10:19. I went to bed earlier than I thought. Anyway, this was officially disturbing any thoughts of sleeping, so I dug out another book and read a few chapters in that. I then picked up yet another book and did the same.

At midnight, I heard my phone beep yet again! This time, Matt had texted, "Good night, rachel." I was loathing him for using my name like he was a good friend of mine. I also still despise the lack of capitalization, save for the first letter in every text.

Well, so far, I was being an obedient child and listening to the wisdom of Josh. I wasn't responding to anything he said. Well, I was responding all right, but in the privacy of my own bedroom, where I was entertaining thoughts of how best to get rid of him. Honestly, no matter how nice a person you are, you have no right to bother other nice (or not nice) people when they've said goodbye .. twice. ESPECIALLY in a wrong number situation!! My goodness. Well, I must go again. At least this is giving me something to write about.

The end, sorta. More like.. to be continued.. again.. still.. cuz I take too long to tell stories.. sorry.. The end.

:: before :: after