a spoonful of random...

The only good thing about Halloween is the candy.

written at 5:33 p.m. on 10.06.06

"What are you going to be for Halloween?"

I've been dreading that question for weeks now, and someone just asked. Don't get me wrong, I'm a huge fan of all the candy involved in Halloween, but the costume part has some bad memories attached.

First of all, I went as Cinderella for five years in a row. Hello, boring childhood! I then moved on to Belle, from Beauty and the Beast. I was enthralled with the idea of an off-the-shoulder outfit, but my mom made me wear a white turtleneck under the gorgeous yellow dress. I was scarred for life.

The following years, I would get all excited about my various outfits. I would spend hours primping, and then my mother would put a huge coat over my costume before I went out to trick-or-treat. Shut-down!

Furthermore, the first year I decided to stay home and hand out candy for Halloween was coincidentally the first year it didn't rain for Halloween. I kid you not, every time I go trick-or-treating, I initiate a downpour.

Needless to say, for the past few years, I've stayed at home for Halloween, sparing the neighborhood from getting drenched. I dress up to hand out candy, and my mother rewards my stay-at-homeness with several bags of my favorite candies.

This year, however, I am supposed to dress up as Morgana from Darkwing Duck. Roughly seven or eight of us are going to be parading around town as various characters from the show, and I get to be this character right here. Try explaining that one to people without getting tons of funny looks. I don't even know how I'm going to get a costume together, and Halloween is only a few weeks away!!

In the end, I may just give in.. I may just buy that rockin' "wench" costumer at Target and call it a day. :) It has some off-the-shoulder action. My mom isn't here to make me wear a turtleneck under it. Childhood, you will be avenged!!

:: before :: after