a spoonful of random...

more s'mores!!

written at 4:07 p.m. on 07.19.04

Wow, I finished my to-do list rather early today. So early that I have time to play before I go to work. Whoo-hoo!

I am nearly finished with the Cookie Designs front page, and it is exactly how I imagined it would look. I've been dragging in anyone and everyone who'll come to look at the new design. My mom started complaining that the cookies looked too real, and my dad tried to enlist my services for another project he has to do for work. My brother probably wouldn't give a rip, so instead of ruffling his feathers, I've left him to play Deer Hunter or whatever he's playing now.

I still don't have my cell phone, and I still don't have a roommate. This is a really sad situation. I'm actually starting to hope that I don't have a roommate, mostly cuz I'm a greedy pig and want space for myself. I also am dreaming up horrible visions of what my roommate could be like. Will she be a fashion snob and scorn my inability to dress myself? Will she be drop-dead gorgeous and make me feel insecure all the time when she talks about dating the guy I like? Will she be a super socialite person who tries to drag me everywhere, laughing as I cling desperately to my computer like the nerd that I am? Or will she be really cool, like all the people I met when I visited the school.. ?!?!?!? So many questions, so many fears, so many insecurites.. Just tell me if I have a roommate or not before I explode!!

Calming down.. Exhale.. Phew. Ok, back to "normal."

I guess all this paranoia boils down to the fact that I despise change, especially changes of which I have little or no control over. Maybe I'm just a control freak. That's an exciting thought. More psycho problems to add to the list. Speaking of problems, I picked up a book on Obsessive Compulsive Disorders at work the other day. (By "picked up" I mean I literally picked it up off of a shelf and flipped through the pages. No purchase necessary in this town, baby.) The result of said pickage was finding out that I do indeed exhibit some obsessive compulsive behaviors. And that, my friends, is the official surprise of the century. Actually, it was kinda disappointing to know that I quite possibly have a disorder. It's more fun to joke about such things when the chances of validity are slim. Oh well. There are plenty of other ways to induce laughter than by joking about OCDs. For example, there a plethera of jokes affectionately nicknamed "Knock knock jokes." The one about the banana and the orange never gets old. Even though one of my nicknames is banana, I never hear that joke! Isn't it odd?

Please note the sarcasm. Please do not ever tell me that joke. The chances of amusing me with that joke are not high. Really, unless you're Elijah Wood or Brad Pitt or another one of my fiancés, don't even try. Consequences will ensue if you ignore that message. So please, torment someone else today.

Moving right along... There is a sticker on the bottom left-hand edge of my laptop keyboard area. The sticker is coming off due to my wrist always sitting on it. Actually, it was coming off when I got the computer. My wrist is now covered in sticker glue, and the exposed sticky areas on the laptop are collecting dog and cat hair like I collected Beanie Babies in the 90s. It's quite fascinating. Not really, but I desperately needed a new subject. Talking about whatever is in eyesight is a last resort, but a source of inspiration I use often.

Enough about me. Let's hear it for President Bush! Ha, I totally don't know why his name came to mind, but let's run with this, shall we? I'm sick of people talking about Fahrenheit 9/11 and why Bush sucks. I like Bush. I always have. He has morals and faith and expresses them with a boldness that I can't help but admire. And if you haven't seen the commercial, they've found the weapon of mass destruction. AIDS. So there. I love my country, and I love my president. I have no shame. But I do have lots of pent-up anger, so here's another topic on which not to oppose me. I hate debating political ideas. I have mine, you have yours, let's talk about the weather. It's gorgeous outside, despite political drama. Three cheers for sunshine and air conditioning. Let's just pray that I have AC in my dorm..

Well, it's only four thirty, but I'm starving. Time for some homemade s'mores! That's right, I made my mom buy graham crackers, Hershey's chocolate bars, and marshmallows, just so I could make smores. Just pop the marshmallows in the microwave for a few seconds, and voila! Instant goodness. And instant entertainment, since watching the marshmallows get puffy just before the microwave stops is really fun. They always look one second away from exploding. Maybe they are! I'll try eight seconds next time to see if that does the trick. Bwa ha ha. Then somebody else can clean up the mess while I roll around on the floor laughing.

Well, that's enough for one day. Enough what? Who knows. I will say that I kinda miss getting "stalked." At least I had something to write about for seven entries. Looks like the only drama around here will be in the microwave... ain't that a cliffhanger?!! What will happen next? Dun dun dun...

Oh, how I amuse myself. I'm off to make a s'more or two. I suggest you do the same. The end!

:: before :: after