a spoonful of random...

the eye drama continues

written at 9:38 p.m. on 04.15.04
Ok, if you haven't read yesterday's entry yet, do all of us a favor and do that now. I'm writing this here entry under the assumption that you know what's goin on in my life. If you don't, .. I pity you.

SO, the eye situation. Yes.. the dreaded eye. Let's just say that a person looks really weird with one normal eye and one dilated eye. After a whopping ten minutes of school, Melody had already dubbed me "One-eyed ::last name::," and by the end of the day, Logan finally came up with the brilliant nickname "Cyclops." Yes, my friends are so compassionate.

Actually, most people were pretty cool about it. After the initial shock passed, and after they took about five minutes looking at one eye and the other and back and forth, they finally came to accept the creepiness. A lot of people even said it was cool. A few people told me that I looked like a cat, and two kids told me that I looked stoned. One honest soul told me that I looked like an alien. All in all, it was a pretty entertaining day.

My eye will still be dilated tomorrow, but hopefully everyone will get over it. Maybe by tomorrow I will have made some cards up that explain what "iritis" is and why my eye is dilated and so forth. Apparently, Jamie Lee Curtis made up little cards with all the details about her dress and her purse and her hair and stuff for some awards ceremony so she wouldn't have to give out the information to three million reporters. Pretty clever, huh?

This is one of the many useless pieces of information I gleaned while skimming through People magazine at the optomet.. opthemol.. at the eye doctor today. My mom and I read every other magazine yesterday when we were at the office, and so we took our time carefully reading each page of this last magazine. Ok, so we did have the option of flipping through a May 1904 edition of Highlights, but.. yes, I think I've read that one ten times at the Dentist's office.

Anywho, I have oodles of homework to do, so I guess this short little health update will have to do. It's my 199th entry here, which sounds impressive until you realize I've had this diary for what, two years now? That's over seven hundred days, so.. yeah. But you can still throw me a party when I get around to writing my 200th entry!

I'm gonna let you go plan that party. In fact, I may give you a day or two to do that. In the meantime, I'm going to go poke and prod at the atrocity in my eye socket until it looks normal again. Oh, right, and I might do some homework along the way, too. We'll see. Maybe I'll pull the "I'm handicapped and making me work is discrimination" card tomorrow. You'll just have to wait and see.

The end.

:: before :: after