a spoonful of random...

get your own opinion, moocher.

written at 9:49 p.m. on 07.13.05

Hey, that's cool, Firefox. Just explode in my face when I had an actual entry written. Gosh, it's like some evil forces are at work, trying to prevent me from writing a real entry. That's cool.. I'm a pirate, I can handle the pressure, baby!!

Ok, enough crazy-woman talk. So, first things first. Brat Camp is an educational, hilarious, and sometimes touching show that anybody with access to ABC should watch at least once. Or maybe not. I was just intrigued by all these snotty kids being forced to learn discipline and respect and responsibility. Interesting. If I wasn't so emotionally unstable at the moment, I could totally reflect on my own life and find a few things to work on, too. I'm still hiding from all my problems, however (like.. umm.. school, work, friends, life.. nothing big), so I'll have to get back to that touching self-reflection session some other day.

Meanwhile, I must get something about boys off my chest. Actually, all boy-related things should be far away from my chest. But that's another rant for another time.

Now, I meet a lot of guys online because I'm a part of so many different blogging communities and stuff. Random strangers just stumble by and before you know it, you're in a conversation online and having a great time. This is where I generally am my most evil...

Jason likes to call my strategy "mind rape." As a pirate, I'm supposed to do that whole raping and pillaging thing, but I can't very well rape a guy with a clear conscience. So, my alternative is "mind rape." Pretty much, I give these random guys a shot at talking to me. I'm pretty lenient on round one, letting them talk their heads off. By round two, I'm more likely to have to go wash my hair in the middle of a conversation or something if they're boring me or annoying me.

Very few guys make it to a round three, four or five. The mind raping comes into play when I let them think that they're doing swell and then all of a sudden stop signing onto that particular screen name or stop responding to IMs or start being away all the time or whatever. It's a slightly cruel and irresponsible way of saying, "I'm not interested," but it's what I do.

Now, the guys who make it into those final rounds start coming under intense scrutiny. I generally start falling for them (they're obviously hilarious and witty and charming if they're that far along.. so much so that they're potentially worthy of my attention and/or affection), but that's where my gut instincts start to kick in. It takes a while to pinpoint why exactly it is that I don't like Fred or Joe or whoever, but I anticipate a much quicker diagnosis from now on. Why? Because I've finally nailed down what it is that all these guys have in common as an irritant to me...

They are incapable of having their own opinions. This has happened with countless guys in just the past few months alone. I'm a web designer, so they start hailing HTML. I'm into Lord of the Rings, so they're huge fans, too. Whatever music I dig, they love, too. It's freaking ridiculous. The worst part is when they blatantly contradict themselves in order to agree with me. I mean, I know I have this whole "princess" persona and nickname and occupation and blah blah, but for Pete's sake, grow a pair and get yourself an opinion!! My goodness. I'm not interested in dating a male version of me, nor am I interested in dating a pansy who bends to my every will, desire, wish, taste, opinion, whatever.

Arg, well, I quit making sense a while back, so I'm just gonna stop now and go ponder some stuff. Au revoir, darlings.

:: before :: after