a spoonful of random...

first day of class at mcc!!!

written at 9:24 a.m. on 08.23.05

So, yesterday was my first day of class, which I survived very nicely. It was Intro to Shakespeare, which could've either taken a drastic turn toward "easy A" or "kill me now." It seems to have landed itself somewhere in the middle, though definitely bordering on the easy side. The teacher is nice, well-educated, and he thankfully does not have a redneck Texan accent. Thank goodness. In fact, he's from Argentina, so there are traces of that accent in there. It makes him seem even more intelligent, for some reason unbeknownst to me.

Today, I have an appointment with my wonderful eye doctor. I am entitled to a free pair of glasses, compliments of somebody or other. I apparently get free contacts one year, free glasses the next, contacts the year after, and on and on, ad nauseam. I should hopefully have enough income to buy my own contacts once they run out in a month or two, but in the meantime, having a new pair of glasses will most definitely bring a smile to my face. Not just any ordinary smile. One of those beaming, "I just got married" smiles that lights up the room, the house, and the surrounding neighborhood.

See, I've been cursed with the same ugly glasses since eighth grade. Yes, in eighth grade, I got a new pair of glasses. I was so happy not to have huge ones covering my face anymore. These ones seemed hip and cool at the time. Then, I was blessed to get contacts. My mother decided that I was old enough to handle the responsibility, so as part of a graduation gift package, I got contact lenses. The compliments on my eyes sky-rocketed and I began to loathe my glasses.

Somewhere between then and now, glasses manufacturers have decided that perhaps it is time to start designing truly gorgeous frames to house those oh-so-handy lenses that make the blind see and the deaf hear. Ok, maybe not that last part. But still. I'm quite excited at the prospect of trying on those trendy, squarish, plastic-looking frames that are sported by all the emo girls and the "I'm not a nerd, but I'll wear a shirt saying that I am so you'll think I'm cute" girls.

Yes, well, I am most certainly a nerd, and there is no use denying it. Somehow, I became what Jason and I have deemed a "popular nerd." I got asked out twice in one night on Friday night, and some 30-year-old man blew me a kiss yesterday on the way home from class. Maybe it has something to do with the fact that I snagged some confidence somewhere in life, a trait that most nerds don't have. I don't know what it is, but here's where I was going with this train of thought...

What if, by some horrible twist of fate, the trendily nerdy glasses that I want push me over the amount of nerd points that allow me to stay in the "popular nerd" category? Not good! I'm just discovering the benefits of the popular part of that category. For example, just yesterday, I had no idea how to find my class because it was in a non-existent classroom on a non-existent floor. Apparently, the non-existent floor got built before classtime, but I still didn't know how to get there! It turns out that there is an elevator from the second floor to get to this mysterious third floor. I still didn't know how to find the elevator. Somewhow, I managed to bump into this guy named Kevin who used to go to my church and sing on worship team. I knew him pretty well from playing on his team a few times, so we chatted for a bit in the hallway before he graciously showed me to the elevator.

Yes, I would not have found this hidden elevator without him. Yes, I would not have known him well enough if I hadn't have been so charming at church. Yes, I'm extremely grateful when stupid things like that pay off randomly. Yes, I'm done starting sentences with the word "yes" for a bit.

So, I suppose it is time for me to go shower and that sort of nonsense. I suppose I could just wash my hair for now, since I'm going to be back home for a bit after the appointment with several hours before class starts. Showering in two parts is always amusing. Let's hope I have at least enough clothing to get me through the morning before I have to do any laundry. *sigh* Me and my lack of organization at home. Alrighty then, I'm off to get clean and fed and dressed. Ciao, darlings!

:: before :: after