a spoonful of random...

the laptop took on a mind of its own..

written at 3:54 p.m. on 06.14.05

My gosh. The past two days have made me question my sanity for being so involved with computers. I'm typing away on my dad's purdy laptop while he's in his study working on the family computer and my laptop.

The story went something like this... I woke up yesterday just before 10am so I could catch the episode of Gilmore Girls that I missed on Friday. Exhausted as all get-out because of the stress of Sunday and the "Sundae Sing" and all that nonsense, I took a nap. I woke up just before the second Gilmore Girls at 4pm, stumbling over to my computer so I could check my email really quick before the show started. I looked at the screen and was shocked to see that it was black. "What happened to Frodo?" was my first thought.

I shook the mouse a little, but no Frodo screensaver appeared. I pressed a few keys, but nothing happened. I wondered to myself, "Did the laptop overheat? Did it explode? What the deuce is going on?"

I pressed the power button, but my computer turned on for a total of two seconds before informing me of a flagrant error!! Ok, just kidding, but if I got a StrongBad-inspired message like that, I'd be way more enthused about this whole situation. Instead, it said, "BATTERY BLAH BLAH!! Est non-existent and not a-working in the proper fashion!"

Something like that. I thought, "You've got to be kidding me.. it's always plugged in, and I haven't moved my computer in a fashion that would unplug it in a week." A good, hearty "Rawr" was then uttered.

I closed the laptop's lid, only to find with shock and awe that the battery cord was NOT CONNECTED to the back of my laptop anymore. I don't know what in heaven's name convinced my laptop to unplug itself, but I have decided that it was just too dang hot for the poor little Lappy to handle. I mean, I woke up grumpy because it was so stinkin hot in my room. For some reason, the sun has decided to roast the northern part of the country this summer, making me oh-so-glad that I am not back in Texas yet.

So, the saga of the crappy laptop continued on for hours. I plugged it back in, forced it to come to life, and then was three steps away from chucking it out the window when it started up at the speed of a legless turtle wading through molasses.

Arg.

I had just defragmented the computer, I run a daily virus scan and anti-spyware check, and there was nothing that could be causing this slowness. Well.. there was one thing.. the registry. My dad had warned me before that it might be time to reformat the computer, but I hadn't wanted to listen. I don't like losing access to my beautiful computer for 24 hours while it gets backed-up, wiped clean, reformatted, and blah blah. But, I was out of options. I couldn't get the poor thing to handle even one Firefox window. One. That's all I had open. It was sad.

So, I tearfully parted with my Lappy last night, and it should be done in a few hours. I miss it already. This laptop has one of those touch-pad things right where my hands rest, causing me to make a billion typos. I'll be typing along and accidentally move the mouse, causing the cursor to jump back several words. Half of the word I'm typing ends up in the middle of the last paragraph, and then mass confusion ensues and.. it's just a mess.

Anyway, my design stuff is on yet ANOTHER halt as I wait for this blasted summer to start cooperating. *Sigh*

Maybe I'm supposed to have figured out by now that web design isn't my calling and that I should back away slowly before the ceiling falls on my head.

:: before :: after