a spoonful of random...

rain makes me cranky. hot, humid, post-rain weather doesn't help.

written at 8:47 p.m. on 06.04.05

So.. the power went out today for several hours, leaving me as bored as heck, sadly. Without a laptop to fiddle around on and without TV to watch and with a room too cramped for reading, I resorted to playing piano for a bit. When I get bored, I also tend to get hungry, and seeing as it was pushing three o'clock in the afternoon and I hadn't eaten, I was starving and wanting some cereal. However.. the neighbors were having a graduation party, storing their extra food supplies in our fridge, meaning that I couldn't open the fridge for the milk until the neighbors needed their meat. Oh, and since I couldn't shower without lights or hot water, I got stuck staying home from the party. Fun. So.. I basically had the house to myself and enough things to complain about to drive me crazy. I returned to the piano like fifteen times in the three-hour period my family was gone, just doodling out a few songs, leaving, realizing it was hot and humid thanks to the thunderstorm leaving its wetness in the air.. Arg.

Sorry for the big, long, icky, dumb rant. I just needed to get that off my chest.

Now that I have my computer back up and running, my dad informed me that the reason for ole Lappy's slowness is probably due to the registry getting too big. He suggested reinstalling Windows and giving it a fresh, clean place to work from. That'd be grand and all, but seeing that I've spent the past month sitting on my butt looking for inspiration for my web site (which I FINALLY found last night), I can't afford to lose all that time reinstalling Windows, reinstalling all my programs, rearranging everything to my liking.. and blah blah blah. I'm in this horrible spot! The computer is slowing me down, but I can't afford the time to make it fast again. Damn these lose-lose situations.

Anyway, another dumb rant. My bad. That's just the way this Cookie crumbles. Well, I guess I just keep plugging away til I get the front page and the skeleton for Cookie Designs up and running. I don't even care if I have no templates to begin with. I just want that out of the way so I can work on something new for a change. It's gotten to that point where words start to look like they're spelled weird. Have you ever had that happen, where you look at a word too long and it starts to look really weird? Both "cookie" and "designs" had some of those moments last night. I'd say I spent a good four hours straight just tweaking and playing around in Paint again.

Well, for a piece of happy news... at least I think I'm finally coming out of this design funk. I was afraid that the redesign for this place was gonna be my last spark of originality, and truthfully, it isn't very original at all! But, alas, patience pays off sometimes, and I'm extremely pleased with the direction Cookie Designs is taking right now. :)

And.. here comes my dad with more bad news about the fact that my computer sucks. Gotta find that happy place.. Right. Lord of the Rings is going in as soon as he leaves.

Ciao!

:: before :: after