a spoonful of random...

missing my church, my state, my piano.. and everything in between

written at 2:17 p.m. on 09.19.04

State of Illinois
You're Illinois!
With a passion for discourse and dialogue, you would make a great debater. In the old days, you wore a top hat and were rather tall, but taller people keep showing up and taking your titles. Now to feel tall, you have to head for the airport, which is always so busy that you can barely deal with it. When in doubt, blame all of your problems on someone else's cow.
Take the State Quiz at the Blue Pyramid.

Hmm. Wonder how that happened. Maybe I retook the quiz until I got the state I wanted, or maybe I'm just an Illinoisan at heart.

Looking at my really unbelievably ugly feet, I wish I had never left Illinois. I'm beginning to get homesick, not necessarily for my home in particular, but for Illinois.

Whenever the weather reminds me of Chicago, or whenever I start craving pizza, or almost every moment of the day, I wish I wasn't in Texas. Granted, sun and heat every day is nice. However, I still don't feel at home here. I miss the familiarity of home, the shopping, the people, church, .. and Randall Road. I miss Randall Road. I miss driving up and down it at ridiculous speeds. This summer, I am going to find every excuse possible to drive that road, especially at times of medium traffic. Enough cars speeding that you blend in, but with enough room for some fancy maneuviering.

The church I went to this morning had much better music than the last church, but.. some of the teaching was a little weird. Also, the college Sunday school was.. well, it was turning into a competition of who knows their Bible best. It was pretty sad. Other than that, the people were friendly, though the other church was definitely more visitor-friendly.

Next weekend we'll go back to this church, since you never know when you get an "off" week in a church. Either you get a weird sermon, weird music, or sometimes a visiting pastor or something that really throws everything for a loop. I still miss my church, though. I'm waiting to find a VHS player so I can watch the video I brought with me of a summer church service.

My feet are still in pain and they itch really obnoxiously. "The group" is heading off campus for dinner tonight to eat at Bodacious Barbecue. Then we'll go to "Wally World" (I hate that nickname) to get me some foot relief. The toothpaste.. just made my feet smell minty. The itching only goes away to some degree when I stop moving my feet. Walking is the worst, cuz even flip flops rub against the welt-like spots and irritate the wounds further.

I just took a picture of them, and I'm planning on getting one of those picture CDs when I develop my film. Yeah, I still don't have a digital camera. I also still don't have Sims 2. Sigh. Patience is not my virtue.

I'm finally getting up the nerve to play piano in front of people here. For the first time, I played in front of my LeTourneau friends. That was this weekend on the retreat on a really crappy piano. I mean, really crappy. Two thirds of the keys were chipped beyoned recognition, and half a dozen keys didn't even make sounds when played. Anywho, my friends are now encouraging me to play more often. It's nice to have their support, since playing in front of new people is always nerve-wracking for me. I actually got out some of my favorite piano books and plan to play some today after I finish my homework. It'll be a nice break for me, since I used to play the piano every day as therapy. It's not like it was prescribed therapy, but it really is quite effective at helping me cope with stuff and to just let out my emotions.

I just killed a really small spider that was making a run for my chocolate. Punk.

Ok, now that I'm officially distracted from any and every train of thought... I'm going to go start my homework.

Later, y'all.

:: before :: after