a spoonful of random...

rory and rachel start with the same letter! neat, huh?

written at 1:30 a.m. on 12.30.04

I think I officially am obsessed with the Gilmore Girls. After rushing out at ten o'clock last night to rent the second season from Blockbuster in my pajamas with my mother, I got my first hint. Then, when we couldn't find it at the local Blockbuster or any of the surrounding Blockbusters (the employee offered to call), we called my father in a panic. We made him look up Wal*mart in the phone book to call to see if they were still open. I was convinced that they were at least open later than 10pm, even though our Wal*mart is easily the crappiest one of its kind anywhere in the Midwest.

Anyway, the point of this whole tirade is that we went to Wal*mart (open til 11, I win!), chatting in a very Lorelai and Rory fashion, bought the second season, and returned home to watch a few episodes. Tonight, we started at 5pm and watched til 12:40am. Sad? Borderline!!

Along that same vein, I've decided to pick up the habit of reading again. This is definitely related to my growing desire to be Rory Gilmore. Or Lorelai. Daniel finds me more of a Lorelai girl, but still, I like the idea of having a book with me everywhere. It's exactly what I did as a child. I read all the time. Dolls? No, thanks! Oliver Twist? Paperback, preferably! (Though, I'd like a second copy in hardback just for the sake of a long-lasting library!)

Anyway, my dreams of going to Yale are far from coming true, particularly since I'm already attending a college that isn't Yale, but the passion has been refueled to attempt to be intelligent to some degree. I'm excited. This is the passion that has been lacking since the end of junior year in high school. It's the passion that drove me to get straight A's for my entire educational career up until senior year in high school, when I managed to get a D or something ridiculous in English. It's what allowed me to get such a pathetic GPA for this first semester in college. Now that the passion is back, I think I can really do this! In fact, I know it! Oh man, I need to go to school now while I'm in the mood for it!!

Ok, enough. I'm rambling. Not in an entertaining manner, either. The polls are in, and this subject is old.

Moving right along. I have this friend. He seems to be hurting. We used to talk a lot. Now we rarely exchange more than a few words. I'm not sure what happened, but it makes me sad that I can't be there for him. It's hurting me that he's shutting me out like this, and I guess I needed to say that somewhere, to someone, but.. nobody is around who would care, I guess.

I just made myself depressed in one little paragraph. That, my friends, is talent!!

In breaking news, the family and I are planning a trip to downtown Chicago tomorrow! I feel so proud, since I always tell the Texan peoples that I live in Chicago, despite the fact that I don't actually live in the city. So, now I can have some actual Chi-town stories to bring back to the dreaded south with me!

Yes, the dreaded south. The Family Guy interpretation of life south of the Mason-Dixon line is so close to accurate. The raccoons popping out of the refridgerators, the Civil War misinterpretations, the uneducated masses.. Bwa ha ha. I'm being so evil. It's so safe to be evil up here, laughing away with my fellow Yankees. Teehee.

It's so nice not to have Santa watching over me any more, no threats of what will happen if I'm naughty instead of nice. Plus, I always found the idea of a fat, old, bearded man peering into my window while I slept most disturbing. So, I vote for throwing out that part of the tradition. All in favor, congratulations.

Anywho, as I try to think of a way to redeem this pointless entry, I realize that I have been mindlessly typing at random breaks in conversation (on AIM) for quite some time now. In fact, it is almost four o'clock! My mom will be in my room at 9am to drag me out of bed into the fog that WeatherBug is predicting so that we can go downtown! I think sleep is a good idea, at this point in time! Saving the entry will have to go next to saving the whales on my list of things to do!

Ta ta!!

:: before :: after