a spoonful of random...

resolutions: better late than never!

written at 4:17 p.m. on 01.02.05

Instead of having "resolutions," per se, I have a few goals and aspirations that I am setting forth for the upcoming semester and for the new year. I won't list them all here, but in summary, I hope to pull my life together, striking a healthy balance between work and play. No more of this sleeping through class, skipping homework to socialize, skipping out on food and sleep for cramming, blah blah. No time like the present to actually learn some discipline and responsibility.

Seeing that next semester threatens to be a wee bit more on the boring end of things, I'm livin it up as much as possible while I still have the opportunity. Early yesterday morning, around 4am, I was finishing up some conversations with friends from LeTourneau, when all of a sudden, I received an IM from some dude named Octavius or something. He was completely drunk and found me through my Xanga somehow. Anyway, that conversation was a source of amusement for myself and everyone else who was still online at the time. I didn't make it to bed until 5am, and I woke up a beautiful 11 hours later at 4pm.

At that point, I was informed that the phone had been ringing practically off the hook for me. I was finishing up a light breakfast/lunch/dinner when Allison called to invite me over to Heidi's house. After numerous phone calls, plans were made and settled. To make a long story short, I had a blast with my gals (all friends from high school days), playing Trivial Pursuit, trying to find something to light on fire, learning that you aren't allowed to smoke cigars at Colonial Cafe, and discovering a common love of Gilmore Girls. Man, it was awesome to see everyone again!

At the moment, I'm watching the extended edition of Return of the King for the third time, though for the first time since I've been off all medications. It's amazing!! Oh man, the greatness of Lord of the Rings never ends!

Oh, I guess I do have a few typical resolutions, come to think of it. Here they are:

  • Monik and I have decided to "defluff" this semester (eat right, exercise, the works).
  • I have every intent of reading more this year. I miss reading, and I'm already half-way through two books that I have been intending to read for a long time.
  • I resolve to be a better steward of my money. I spent a bazillion dollars on chocolate and coffee last semester. Because of that, I am on limited funds for this semester. I'll have to be more careful than ever not to spend money on frivolous little whatnots.
  • Blah blah.. basically I am going to try to work on my weaknesses and to work with my strengths. Aww.. how Cornerstones of a statement was that? (Only LeTourneau people will understand the Cornerstones reference, sorry.)

Oh, if everyone could be in prayer for my roommate.. She's from Indonesia, and the traumatic events there are sure to be affecting her in some way, though I have yet to hear from her on it. I cannot imagine what it must be like, thousands of miles from your home country, knowing that terrible things are happening, but completely helpless to do anything about it. I hope and pray that her family and friends are ok. It's such a terrifying experience, even to hear about from afar!

Gah! Frodo just got stabbed by Shelob!!! My poor baby! And in walks Sam to the rescue. Ok, well, seeing that I'm not going to be able to spare my attention much longer, I'm thinking now is an opportune time to end this entry! Ciao!!

:: before :: after