a spoonful of random...

farewell, high school

written at 5:10 p.m. on 05.13.04
Well, I have a confession to make. I started a review site. I'm not sure that I have any intention of actually reviewing any diaries, but.. I couldn't help it! I got an opportunity to make yet another five-minute design, which makes me feel all fuzzy inside.

Anywho, school's over, and I'm feeling an identity crisis coming on. High school.. is over! I don't mean to be overdramatic, but this is just so mind-boggling to me. I'm resorting to taking comfort in the fact that I'll still be around Chicago for the next few months. I'll squish in as many visits to Wrigley Field as possible to see my beloved Cubs play. I also want to spend as much time as possible hanging out with my friends, since I won't be seeing them for probably a year. Dang, that makes me so sad.

But, alas, I must save the sappiness for August, when I actually leave. Until then, I'll just be in denial. To add to the Freudianism, I'll be sure to repress as many thoughts and memories as possible. It's all good.

Meanwhile, I finally got around to doing some laundry today. I literally have no clean clothes, with the exception of two tank tops from eighth grade, a bunch of sweaters that I don't even wear in the winter, and thirty pairs of shorts that I refuse to wear. So, really, I have no clothes. I mean, I've been doing the whole wash-one-outfit-at-a-time thing for a while now, as to avoid wearing dirty clothes. But, I'm tired of seeing mountains of dirty clothes piled up all over my bedroom.

That reminds me... I'm a huge fan of organization, but why can't I organize my own room? Why is it that people can organize anything that isn't their own stuff? I get so frustrated with myself for having so many emotional attachments to things that I own. Honestly, I remember having difficulty throwing away tissues and napkins and the like when I was very little. I thought the napkins would be sad, and gosh darn it, I had no intentions on hurting its feelings. Fortunately, my mother's philosophy is, "If it isn't breathing, throw it away." We kinda balance each other out in that annoying-but-beneficial way.

Maybe I should get a digital camera and take pictures of all the things I'm tempted to hang on to for no good reason. For example, I have quite a few toys from McDonald's that my mom brings home.. I just can't bear to part with them. (She's super-petite and eats very little, hence her buying kids' meals.) Maybe if I took pictures of them, I wouldn't feel so bad throwing them away. Of course, eventually I would get to the point where I would forget why I had pictures of all the Finding Nemo characters, and would henceforth delete the pictures.

Ok, but this topic is boring me.

OH!! I am SOOoo excited! My mom set up an appointment for me at the dentist the morning of graduation. Now, I know you're thinking, "Whoopee, a dentist appointment. Big deal." But it is a big deal. I'm getting my teeth whitened!! I have wanted to have this done since I was.. nine or ten years old. My cruel genes decided that my teeth would naturally be more yellow than most peoples' teeth, and I've tried every at-home tooth-whitening kit under the sun to no avail. My teeth are no whiter than when I started, and I'm just as insecure about smiling as ever. This poses major problems, since I enjoy smiling and laughing 'round the clock. This leaves me insecure, 'round the clock. SO, this is a huge deal for me. My parents are doing this for me as part of my graduation present. They had hoped to get an appointment set up before the class trip, but the dentists' office only does it Thursday mornings. Today is Thursday. The appointment was confirmed about three hours ago. Next Thursday, I'm on the class trip. SO, it's time to test my patience, yet again.

Ugh. I think I made the stupidest mistake ever when I bought my brother a new CD from Best Buy the other day after school. I was feeling sorry for the little bugger (ignore the British meaning of that word, if you know it), so I decided to let him pick out a new CD. I tend to listen to the same CD for weeks on end in the car, just cuz that's how I am. I go through phases of infatuation. It's part of my music schizophrenia. Anywho, poor Adam's been stuck listening to Maroon 5 for umpteen weeks in a row. He's a fan of hard rock and sometimes rap. Maroon 5 is not topping his charts no matter how many times he hears the CD.

So, back to the music selection deal. We're at Best Buy, and I'm scoping out all the hot guys, keeping myself in check by thinking, "OK, sure he's hot, but he's in the video game aisle, so maybe he's a computer nerd who hates girls." While I keep myself occupied in this manner, I let Adam wander around to pick out his CD. It turns out, he's alphabetically challenged. After five minutes of standing around by the 'H' CDs, I asked him what he was looking for. He replied, "Nickelback." Ok, well, being that I remember liking a song or two of theirs, I figured it would be ok to direct him towards their CDs. So, I led the midget child over to the 'N' CDs and pointed out where Nickelback's CDs were. Looking like the figurative deer in headlights, he fumbled around with a few CDs before finally making his selection.

I honestly have no idea what CD he chose. I just know that I hate it. I let him play it in the car twice and only twice. Maroon 5 quickly found its way back to the CD player, relieved to find it was still the favorite CD and that the intruder was gone. Meanwhile, Adam found his Discman and cranks up the volume to unhealthy levels in an attempt to drown out the sexy crooning of Maroon 5's lead singer, ...whatever his name is. His CD is currently blaring from his room, making me cringe as I write this entry. I seriously cannot stand it. The dude's voice gets on my nerves, and the nondescript clanging of the instuments on every track is impressively boring. Honestly, I'm impressed with how quickly they made me hate them.

But enough about poor Nickelback. I'm sure I'm offending fans left and right. Up and down. Diagonal and the other diagonal. If you are offended, .. I'm sorry.. that you have to live with your sorry self!! Oh.. feel the burn!

Ok, this is just getting crazy. Stop reading this nonsense and go tell your friends to get a review at cookie reviews!!

The end!!

:: before :: after