a spoonful of random...

possibly the most dull and boring entry of the month

written at 2:05 p.m. on 05.30.05

This is my 350th entry, but yet I've had this diary for over three years. Eeenteresting. I can't very well claim to be a member of the daily-updaters' club, now can I?

Another day was spent dancing with midgets.. er.. shopping with the mother. The two cute ottomans that we were using as a bench were returned to Target in exchange for this uber comfy bench with padding and some cute pillows to the tune of $200, roughly speaking. The aching bodies of the Queen and the Princess were much happier landing on the soft wonderfulness of this purchase than plopping oddly onto a padded footstool.

We also stumbled across some amazing pillows. They're the kind of high-end designer pillows you find adorning the really chic homes on HGTV and AE and TLC and whatever other channels you can find out there that are hosting fancy pillows. Anyway, I'm gonna have to take pictures of the finished products. I'd take before-and-after shots, but the living room couches were removed ages ago and replaced with one single couch and a nice void for the two new red chairs (being delivered tomorrow!) to fill.

Enough talk of home decor. I think it's time for some true nerdiness to be revealed. Here are the books I am actively reading this summer in order to either keep my brain alive or to jumpstart my career in web design...

  • Webster's New World Thesaurus (1971 edition.. I think it's time for a new thesaurus, eh?)
  • Word Power Quiz Book
  • Write for College
  • A Writer's Reference (5th edition)
  • Funk & Wagnall's Standard Desk Dictionary (1979 edition.. also in need of an update?)
  • JavaScript In Easy Steps (Horrible book.. don't buy it.. I just wrote a bad review of it for Amazon.com)
  • Beginning JavaScript (2nd edition, a WROX book.. excellent tool)
  • Learning PHP 5 (by O'Reilly.. I always recommend their books)
  • HTML & XHTML: The Definitive Guide (4th edition, by O'Reilly.. again, highly recommended)
  • CGI Programming with Perl (2nd edition, yet another O'Reilly book)
  • CGI Programming 101 (haven't looked through it yet..)
  • Pocket Oxford Hachette French Dictionary (2nd edition)
  • Sense and Sensibility

If that was not the most boring list of books ever collected on my desk, I don't know what is. Dictionaries in two languages? A thesaurus and a few English refence books? Half a dozen computer-programming books, most over ONE THOUSAND PAGES in length? This is what happens when my mom takes away my car keys, when my room tries to swallow me alive, and when I don't have cable TV in my room.

I had less books on my desk during the entire year I just spent at college. That's the saddest part of this whole affair.. it truly is. Hey, at least I had a Jane Austen book in there to spice things up a bit. I gotta say, though.. I'm a few chapters in and already longing for Pride and Prejudice. Oh well.

Hey, so I've bored you quite long enough. Time for you to go read some Family Guy quotes to ease the headache you probably got after reading all that boringness. Yay for Family Guy! Yay for Gilmore Girls returning to its regularly-scheduled time slot tomorrow so I have something to do for at least one hour of my day! And yay for the local IHOP not trying to poison me like the IHOPs in Texas...

May fun be with you. It sure as heck isn't with me.

:: before :: after