a spoonful of random...

employee of the year, yes.. that has a nice ring to it

written at 10:21 p.m. on 08.07.04

Ok, for once in my life, I'm going to have to disagree with VH1. This was not the best week ever. Well, maybe for somebody else, but not for me. I'll save the whining for .. some other life time, I guess, but I will say that I really dislike working six days in a row. Even the respected employees get a day off!

Speaking of respected employees, I'm well on my way to becoming one. Yes, since the bookstore finally installed the internet up front, I have finally become the go-to girl. NO one else knows anything about computers, much less the internet. Every five minutes, I hear, "(To customer) Well, she can probably help you. (To me) Rachel, could you look up this book/gift/whatever for this customer, please?"

It's music to my ears. I've always felt .. like the underdog around the store because everyone has more experience than me, except for the owners, but they have more say than me. So, I'm just the newer-than-anyone-else young person who surely must not be of any use. Well, step off, old people!! My time has come!

When I do get opportunities to search the web for whatever it is the customer desires, a cute little cluster of the employees forms behind my back. They literally watch over my shoulder and have me explain every step I take to find whatever they're looking for. Now, thanks to the powers of Yahoo!, I've managed to find some Christian sites that have better search engines than the one supplied by Spring Arbor (the main company we order from). So, step by itty-bitty step, I'm educating the so-called masters in the art of surfing the web. Finally, my years of nerdy addiction to computers is paying off! Granted, all this work could have built up to a raise, but I'm leaving! No more paychecks of any size for me for a loooong time. Goodbye bookstore, hello multi-billion-dollar debt!

OH!! My neighbor finally returned my Lord of the Rings DVDs!! I'm ecstatic! Not only do I have my "precious" trilogy back, but I managed to transform the entire family into hardcore Lord of the Rings fanatics! Woo-hoo! Hobbitizing the world, one family at a time...

Ok, I have about thirty minutes before the internet connection goes KAPOW! So.. I'm going to FINALLY post a trial of Cookie Designs somewhere! This is so exciting!!!! I might email a few people to give em a link, cuz I crave feedback!

Totally off-subject, guess what I found while vacuuming the store the other night? Just guess. Ok, you'll never guess. A banana peel! That had been there for days! Sick, eh?

Anyway, I'm off to see the wizard!

:: before :: after