a spoonful of random...

sleeping on the couch cuz of the bugs by my bed.. how it made my day

written at 11:48 p.m. on 04.27.05

I named the third slot on my Zelda game "Pants." Teehee. I just walked up to the old lady sweeping her grass (?), and she said to me, "Oh, Pants. Someone's been spreading rumors, saying you kidnapped the princess... but I still trust you." How great is that?! Oh, Pants!

Sigh. Sakes alive, I actually slept on the couch last night. It was the only reason I woke up on time this morning. I think I'm gonna try it again tonight. I need to watch some videos out there anyway. I just need to get like.. five hours of studying done before I can call it a night. GAH! Bug on my computer!!

I'm like sobbing and whimpering over here. I can't take it anymore!! Texas does not rock my socks.

Random story. Jason and I went to breakfast this morning, and five minutes before lunch was supposed to start (we kinda have a tendency to get into these never-ending conversations), we saw a kitty outside the window. We left the cafeteria to go catch it, but it kept walking away from us. Finally, it got to a curb alongside a road. I was shouting, "Kitty, don't get run over!" when it all of a sudden disappeared! It flippin fell into the sewer system!! I was so sad but impressed! I saw it around campus later in the day, so any worries I had were erased. But wow.. that cat rocked my socks.

I had something really amusing I wanted to share here, but it has completely escaped my attention. Yar!

Well, I talked to Dr. Roller today. He is the Dean of the School of Business. He told me that the Dean of the School of Computer Science doesn't want to let me switch majors. So, Dr. Roller pretty much is helping me to cheat the system a little. He is just working stuff to my advantage, really. I am blessed to have had him as a Cornerstones leader because, through that, he was able to see that I am not failing for lack of brains or ability or talent. In fact, something he said filled me with a once-familiar surge of pride. "Out of the thirty kids in our Cornerstones group, you were undoubtedly in the top two or three, as far as intelligence is concerned. I've seen your work, I've read your writing, and I know you can do better than this."

The fact that he told me I was among the best and the brightest.. that made me long to prove him right, to prove to him and my parents and, most importantly, myself that I can do this. I can succeed, I can be the best and the brightest again. I can overcome one bad year. I can earn my place among the elite again. Man, it's nice to have somebody believe in you.

Another amazing example of that actually occured right next door. I accompanied Joel S. to Dr. Fairweather's office a short while after leaving Dr. Roller's office. Dr. Fairweather offered to let me make up all my video reflections, my missed exam (with a 25% deduction) and the extra credit assignment(though for 25 instead of 50 points). Man, second chances rock!

So, moment over. The gist of the story is that I have a hope of a future here at LeTourneau, should I end up returning. That makes me happy. :) I just don't know what I'll do without all my guy friends.. they've been such a blessing, and I'm afraid to lose that. This is one of those moments that I just have to keep telling myself to trust in God. My future is up in the air, and I have to believe that He has everything under control, no matter how chaotic it may look from where I'm standing.

Anywho, I feel that a burden has been lifted from my shoulders. I feel that I can finish out this last part of the semester strong. I have some sort of renewed vigor. It is amazing. I'm so glad I woke up on time today!

:: before :: after