a spoonful of random...

I miss you, Diaryland.

written at 7:43 p.m. on 06.04.06

When I was little, I used to run around the house, promising myself and anyone who would listen that I would never ever cut my hair. I wanted to grow it out forever. By third grade, I could sit on my hair or whip people within a two-foot radius of me with my ponytail.

That year, I let my friend talk me into getting my hair cut to shoulder length for twin day.

When I first started this journal at Diaryland in 2002, I promised myself and anyone who would listen that I would never abandon Diaryland for Xanga or LiveJournal or Diary-X or any other blogging platform. I would update four to seven times a week, spewing mindless babble and spoonfuls of random all over the poor internet.

I wrote several posts dedicated to the evils of Xanga. People on Xanga have a higher chance of being illiterate. They get an account as part of a quest for either popularity, acceptance, or trendiness. The templates cannot be altered with the ease and grace of pure coding. Instead, many hacks and tricks must be used to change a Xanga design, leading to some truly atrocious disasters.

LiveJournal also has its share of fugly layouts, and their use of themes and layers makes customization a nightmare. The writers seem to be a little more literate, and the environment leans more toward actual blogging than a continuous pursuit of "eProps" and an ever-lengthening "subscription list."

Yes, Diaryland has always been near and dear to my heart. Here, I can not only enjoy the company of literate individuals, but I can also freely flex my designer muscles by creating templates from scratch.

So why is it that I seem to have left Diaryland, once again?

PROTECTED. ENTRIES.

There are some things that I really can't risk posting for all the world to see. I often use writing as an escape, and it is awfully hard to escape with the whole world watching. LiveJournal offers me multiple levels of security on each entry or even on my entire journal. I don't need to lock anyone out or require a password. You can either read the entry, or you can't. It's that simple.

If you have a LiveJournal account, and you would like to be added to my friends list on my account, leave me a comment or a note or something with your username. I also use Xanga for useless and short posts, so if you're a fellow user of X to the Anga, let me know.

I am not leaving Diaryland. I won't ever leave. I just need to figure out how to make it work for my purposes again. Or maybe I just need to grow up and stop hiding stuff.

:: before :: after