a spoonful of random...

sorta like dressing a balloon...

written at 10:21 p.m. on 05.01.04
Mom: "Why do your pants always look like they're falling off your rear, Roger? Is it a belt problem, a pants problem?"
Dad: "Sigh. It's uh, uh.. a shape problem."
Mom: "Kinda like dressing a balloon, huh?"
Dad: "Yeah, something like that."

No one escapes the prodding and poking of the mother figure. Then again, my dad chose to live with her. I, on the other hand...

Actually, my mom and I went shopping after I got off work today. It was pretty fun. We were on a mission. My brother and I share a bathroom, and it's been uglier than ever for the past two or three months. My mom, always anxious to start and finish projects before she has the time or money to finish them, ripped the wallpaper off the walls. The wallpaper took off some of the wall itself. Our bathroom looks pretty crappy, and it's driving me up the wall. Anyway, we bought a groovy shower curtain, and we bought two colors of matching towels. We're doing this awesome design on the walls to match the groovy shower curtain. I'll have to take pictures. Maybe I should ask for a digital camera as a graduation present...

Speaking of pictures, I think I have the camera from hell. My brother gave it to me as a birthday present, and it was really out of his price range. It's a decent camera. However, the film never wants to load. I've had several people try to work the thing, and the results are in: it's just cursed. My mom insisted on taking the film out last time, even though I wasn't sure it had rewound properly. Well, all the pictures got ruined, and I'm out twenty-some good pics. Allison, the picture of you and Jordan was in that camera, I think. Also, pictures of Matt and Joel jumping off of folding chairs, trying to pull cool guitar and bass moves.. and failing when the chairs broke.. those pics were on there, too. I'm pissed. Oh well.

Meanwhile, it was another long day at work. The store closes at 5:30 on Saturday. The last person didn't get shoved out the door until almost six o'clock. Yar. "Oh, I didn't think you guys closed so early!" Right, and we just turned the lights out at 5:30 to conserve energy. Idiots.

Well, I'm trying hard to think of some good news or something positive to say. I guess the shopping experience was the highlight of the day. My mom was happy, so I was happy. Oh yeah, I got to eat chocolate chip pancakes from IHOP this morning for breakfast. The family was semi-jovial. My brother and I had a mini-spat or two, but otherwise it was all good.

Oh, I finally got curtains for my room. They're white sheers. I got really cool curtain rods, too. I'm excited. I've been living with plain white blinds for almost a year now. I'm glad my room will look pretty.. while I'm at college! Ha, yes, everything is just so ironic. The room gets done just in time for me to leave. Oh well.

I must say, I can't wait for Target to get their dorm stuff in. I have drooled over the dorm stuff at Target for years now, waiting to have a dorm room to put it in. I hope my future roommate is planning on sleeping in the bathroom, cuz I'm gonna fill the whole stinking room with stuff from Target. Heck, I'm gonna graduate several thousand dollars in debt, I might as well spend another thousand dollars on making the room (and myself) beautiful by donating my life's savings to Target. (And that, ladies and gentlemen, is an example of how to prioritize.)

I'm at the crossroads of being sleepy-hyper or sleepy-mellow. I think I'll opt for the mellow route and go sleep now. Once again, I'm stuck with oodles more to say, but that's just gonna have to wait for the next entry.

The end.

:: before :: after