a spoonful of random...

a major dilemma (and a dumb pun)

written at 7:51 a.m. on 02.03.05

I came to a startliing conclusion this week--I may need to switch my major. Business majors tell me that the classes get more interesting as time goes on, which may be true, but, right now, I am struggling to see what is so fascinating about business. Marketing is getting a little more interesting, but accounting class is incredibly boring.

I found myself spouting off rules of English grammar at a few friends recently, since I have been particularly cranky and picky this week. It was in these moments that I realized how much I enjoyed English at times. Doing my calculus homework earlier this week, I found myself coming to the same conclusion about math.

Now, I am remembering why I decided to be a business major. I have a vague interest in business, a love of English and math, an interest in web design, a love of music, and no idea how to combine everything into a career. I spoke with Dr. Roller, the Dean of Business and leader of my Cornerstones group, about this early last semester. He told me that there were people on campus who could help me figure this out. I guess I just forgot that the whole dilemma existed, so I neglected to go find said people. I suppose I could just flip through the LeTourneau Catalogue and try to find a major that better incorporates my interests. Either that, or I could just wait it out for a few years to see if these boring business courses evolve into interesting business courses.

This is my punishment for waking up early in the morning. I am plagued with worrisome thoughts before the clock even strikes eight o'clock. I did, however get eleven hours of sleep and am enjoying my second bowl of Rice Krispies. Maybe mornings can be good on occasion! On that note, I get to go give Sheryl the surprise of a lifetime by awakening her for the second time this year.

:: before :: after