a spoonful of random...

broadening my horizon?

written at 11:11 p.m. on 01.26.05

Dwelling in the South has given me a new perspective on liberalism and political correctness and racism and just a variety of different topics. I have been exposed to a variety of startling viewpoints, many of them from Southerners who dwell in small, backwoods towns where the civilization process is hundreds of years behind schedule.

The prime example coming to mind at the moment is my suitemate. She and I had an incredibly interesting set of discussions regarding the differences in the North and the South, particularly fascinating because of the small size of her town compared to my roots in the metropolis of Chicago.

In the forest on the outskirts of her town, there are the remains of the wall used by the KKK for hangings. Her dad's side of the family is extremely racist, and she made a comment in their defense saying, "Well, I mean, there isn't anything in the Bible about racism being a sin." It seemed like a comment that had been fed to her previously, and it shocked me speechless for almost a minute. I debated this issue for a few minutes before deciding that I was too upset to properly state my points without shaming or judging her relations.

Another interesting racial issue was the infiltration of Mexicans into the country, particularly in Texas. She was convinced that they deserved the low-paying jobs they got, whereas I was stressing the potential of these immigrants (the legal ones). Perhaps they can be taught English. Perhaps they can adapt to the culture and be more than the lawn-mowers and the janitors and so on and so forth.

I am so accustomed to the Democratic aura that infiltrates almost everything in Illinois. I am used to the political correctness, the equality for all, the scorn of racism and such things. It is so weird, for lack of a better word, to hear an viewpoint almost completeley contradictory to the norm. The opinions seem so antiquated and so foreign. I guess that college really does help to expand the mind and broaden the horizon!

:: before :: after