a spoonful of random...

life outside the bubble

written at 11:07 a.m. on 01.21.05

I made it to marketing class! I am so impressed with myself! I looked horrible--I woke up at 9:10 for a 9:20 class--and walked in thirty seconds after the bell rang, but I was there! Dr. Fairweather walked in to the classroom a minute after I did, thankfully. Wow, that was quite the adrenaline rush.

Sheryl and I had an interesting talk yesterday about the "bubble" of LeTourneau University. One of our mutual friends has a tendency to be needy and clingy, playing the part of "the baby" regularly. This friend has made complaints about the few people who refuse to pamper her in the manner to which she is accustomed. Sheryl and I were noting how sad it will be when this friend (and others on campus) enter "the real world" and are welcomed by a most unpleasant reality check. Say what? I have to do that myself? I dress like what? What do you mean I need to grow up?

I sometimes wonder about that myself, since I have spent most of my life in small, private schools. I don't feel sheltered, but that doesn't mean much of anything. Oh, well. Only time will tell.

Meanwhile, my homework is still not trained to do itself. My clothes and my room are not cleaning themselves, either. Responsibilities are calling, and, for some reason, I am answering. Au revoir!

:: before :: after