a spoonful of random...

do not inhale.. cruel laughter may commence

written at 8:09 a.m. on 02.21.05

Valentine's Day, though it has indeed come and gone, has left every single guy on campus mentally ill. I got asked out multiple times last week, and I am now officially scared of most of my single guy friends. :: Shudder ::

Well, anyway, it's time to share some fun stories of what I've been up to for the past few weeks. Adding entries here is really higher on my list than one might expect, but time is just flying by these days. Honestly, I don't even know how it got to be Monday again. So soon!

Monik and I rearranged our room two weeks ago, approximately. I sketched out a plan for the room, we moved around a bunch of heavy furniture, and so on. Boring stuff, really. This information is relevant, I promise. Here's the important part.. my desk now faces the window. This is the most dangerous place for my desk to be. I now have a constant and free source of distraction and entertainment just a glance away! It's crazy!

A week ago on Saturday night, Jason and Michael went outside to play frisbee on the grassy area that is in front of my dorm building and right in my field of vision from my desk. I was actually seated in my window during this event, since I was considering accepting the invitation to join. Tired of waiting for me to answer, Jason and Michael walked over and pelted me and my window with acorns. Dozens of them were found Sunday morning strewn about my room. This entire sequence was repeated on Sunday night, much to my delight.

Monday night, I noted that my sexy men were absent from my window, complaining to Jason about this lack of entertainment. He suggested that I come visit them at their window. The invitation was gladly accepted. I dashed over, only to have Michael throw a piece of pizza at me. Jason then had me start of the "Romeo, Romeo, wherefor art thou, Romeo?" spiel. Michael was feeding him the lines from inside the room as Jason quoted them to me out the window. Then, with Michael "accompanying" on guitar, Jason turned up Sister Hazel's "All for You (Live)" and proceeded to sereande me. It was actually a passerby's idea that I be serenaded. At some point, Michael chucked pudding out the window in my general direction. It splattered all over the building. I eventually had to go back to homework, but I was not soon to forget that night... I ate too many SweetTarts and burned the sides of my tongue.

Tuesday and Wednesday were rather uneventful, as I recall. Wednesday night, Boy took me to go pick up my music for my first week on Worship Team at Longview Christian Church. After that, we spent a few hours looking for new shoes for him. Size 13 shoes come in one of two styles, apparently--disgusting or overpriced.

Thursday night, I spent a good chunk of time watching Family Guy in Jason's room. Friday night, Lallie and Karen chilled with Club for a bit, and we witnessed the popping of Cam's beanbag chair. That was entertaining, mostly cuz we tried to disguise the fact that it broke by covering up all the evidences (lots of tiny white Styrofoam beads) with clothes and rugs and such. Cam did eventually come to find out, but yeah.. he wasn't as amused by it as we were.

Saturday night, I was playing with a basket full of the beads, which Cam had collected late Friday night. The beads are mesmerizing and hypnotizing and lots of other "izing" words that I'm sure are floating around out there. They were so hypnotic that they convinced John (Pimp) to stick his head into the basket. Before completely removing his head from said position, he made the mistake of inhaling. He swallowed hundreds of tiny beads.. and had thrown most of them in the next five seconds. It was quite the disturbing visual. Then again, it gives us something to laugh about for many weeks to come. The whiteboard on Club read "John did a stupid," just a few minutes after the incident occured, cuz I was so amused that I had told three people the story before John even had the chance to emerge from the bathroom. He did spend the rest of the evening hacking up little beads, which was disgusting enough to elicit a groan out of most of us before we doubled over in hysterics.

Playing at the church went well yesterday morning. I'm so happy to be part of a church again and even moreso to be part of a "band" again. I did get a barrage of people after the service who wanted to thank me for playing. That always throws me for a loop, since I can never think of anything proper to say in response to that. Sigh.

Anywho, class is happening at 9:20, which is thirty minutes away, so I must now take my leave of you. Sad day. But.. happy day, cuz I have a way back to Illinois for Spring Break! Three cheers for free tickets! Three more cheers for Spring Training 2005 starting for the Cubs. :) Yes, yes, I'm done cheering now. Peace!

:: before :: after