a spoonful of random...

Working retail makes you a better shopper.

written at 10:26 a.m. on 11.26.05

Everyone in my house is talking except me. My mom and dad are working on some church thing, and my brother is on the phone with his one friend.. the one who moved to Texas. (It's becoming a trendy thing to do, I guess.)

I'm just sitting here watching the first disc of the extended version of The Fellowship of the Ring out of the corner of my eye. It's gotten to the point where I'm quoting along with it while typing. The scary part is that I probably have more text memorized from Lord of the Rings than from the Bible. Sometimes I worry about my priorities in life. Too bad worrying isn't a priority.


Black Friday went off without too many hitches. I'm still exhausted from the 5:30am-3:00pm shift. I did manage to look amazing at 5:30 in the morning, mostly because I've been known to be up to 5:30.. it could be considered "night" to my brain. It was nice to be able to be all primped and pretty for such a nasty time of the morning.

I got home and watched Gilmore Girls with my mom until eleven o'clock at night, at which point I was falling asleep on the couch. I dragged my butt upstairs and crashed. I worked today from noon to 8:30pm, so I'm a little bit tired still. I'll recover.


I think it should be required that everyone work retail for at least one year of their lives. Entry-level retail. Cashiering. I kid you not. You will never shop the same. You will know what it is like to stand on your feet for nine hours and have 35038 customers bitch at you about things that aren't your fault. You will know to read the fine print on a coupon and to not complain to the cashier if you neglect to do so. You will know that sometimes things will not ring up at the correct price, but the cashier is not intentionally trying to rip you off.. the register computed the price. Oh, and when your credit card has to be imprinted, the cashier is not "trying to steal" your credit card number.

I hate people sometimes. It's a good thing I'm paid to smile.


All the snow melted from yesterday. So sad. More will come. The first snow was on the 23rd, so supposedly, we'll have twenty-three snows. My aunt's mother tracked that for five years and said that it was always accurate. I have a feeling this woman also shoots every black cat that is about to cross her path.

Well, that was a rather blah entry, but I'll find my funniness later. Too tired right now.

Sweeeet... my daddy is making me chocolate chip cookies.

:: before :: after