a spoonful of random...

tail-gate party at the church...

written at 7:19 a.m. on 09.11.05

So, I'm using Opera because Firefox recently froze on me. I was annoyed and bored, so I just started clicking until internet happened again. That makes me sound like a complete n00b to the world of internet, but trust me, the fact that I know the word n00b and what it means should tell you otherwise.

That reminds me that I haven't played Runescape in ages. Dang.

Off subject! Ahh! Ok, so back to Opera. Philosophy.nu usually has these cute little buttons for editing your post, but today, no such luck! Opera all up and ate them. So now I'm back at square one and a Diaryland-style editing box. Yar. Give me cute little buttons! I don't want to use them, they just make me feel cool.

Speaking of cool, my new work uniforms fall into a category far, far away from the word "cool." Black shoes, black slacks, and shirts that are a light shade of blah blue. It's the color you would expect to see on one of those hideous denim vests of the 80s/90s. Ew. Thankfully, I look good in most shades of blue, and I also happen to look good in ugly work uniforms (somehow)... I hope that doesn't mean I'm destined to be wearing them for any length of time.

Now, although I do not have to wear the particular shirts that have "Office Depot" emblazened on them, I do have to wear button-up shirts of that color. Button-up shirts are not found in my closet. I'm a polo girl if it has to have buttons. Polos and cute fitted tees and sexy tanks... and hooded sweatshirts. Welcome to my closet. Population: overflowing.

Speaking of clothes, I need to find some to wear to church this morning. It's the kick-off to this new program called "40 Days of Community." We'll see how that goes. It's supposed to bring the church closer together while at the same time providing ample opportunity for the church to reach out to the neighboring community of our town, our state, our country, and our world. At least, that's what I've gathered so far from listening through a sleepy daze the past few Sunday mornings.

The kick-off this morning requires "casual attire" because after only one service (instead of the usual two), we're having a "tail-gate party" in place of the usual church picnic. It should be tons of fun up until they start playing stupid "get to know your church community" games. I plan to be gone by then anyway, counting the offertory money. That's one of my regular duties/services that usually happens during the second service. Since there is no second service, I plan to grab food, ditch the games, and count some moola.

Not that there has been any moola to speak of as of late... The heart-wrenching video clip of tsunami survivors a month ago brought in floods of tears and money, but apparently it was only because of the heart-wrenchingness. We in the counting room have joked about directing a video of the church staff all crying and whatnot. If only that would work.. *sigh*

Well, back to that getting dressed part. I'm not planning on wearing "casual" attire, but I do need to find something that could almost sorta be considered "casual." I also need to wash my hair and put on a wee dab of makeup and all those other fun things. And eat. I'm starving. With that in mind, I think I'll kill this entry now and leave you with the hope and fear of future updates. Ciao!

P.S. I originally wrote this for my philosophy.nu blog, so if anything doesn't make sense, just tell me.

:: before :: after